Blochain Social Madness

in #moonbot6 years ago (edited)

Looks like everybody is trying to build a blockchain social media platform and change the world. I tried them all, or so I thought. Before I get to my newest discovery, I thought I would mention that the Minds.com coin has gone live. What that means I do not know because it looks like it can only be used within Minds, but maybe it can be traded through an exchange. If I get around to getting an answer I will let you know.

And now for my newest adventure into the world of social blockchain madness - Empowr! Yeah, I had not heard of it either until yesterday. It looks as if it is a couple of years old, had a base going into their coin being offered, and the coin has value - $1.20 when I last checked. Yep, worth more than Steem. That can not be a bad thing so I signed up and logged in.

Whoa, wtf? Typical social media layout but with charts, buttons galore, and even a banner ad. My eyes began to hurt, followed by my head. Sooooo much stuff to figure out. It actually was not bad once I poked around a little. It seems to be an all in one social media outlet with a marketplace, charitable giving section, gaming for coins, and even a possible dating corner all crammed into one. It is a bit much, in my opinion.

Now for the good parts about Empowr. Nobody is demanding "quality posts." Nope, no "quality" Nazi ready to flag, or punitive algorithm built in. In fact, they encourage 10 second and fluff posts. The second best thing is that you start out with coins. No spending a year and investing at least $500 USD in Steem Power trying to make your vote count. I began with $31 USD in coins just for signing up. Earning more with likes and comments seems easy. Of course there is a catch - you can't withdraw them for 90 days. You can't touch Steem Power for 13 weeks so I do not see that as a problem, and I sure as hell did not get $31 in Steem Power for signing up.

Overall, I am going to give Empowr a solid B and will be using it. If you want to try it out, please use my referral link (if it works) and you will get $20 in coins once you sign up. I only got $11 because I did not have a referral link to use. You know that $9 extra in free coins is way more than you make here on Steemit so why not give it a try. I go by Bo Boxer on Empowr so look me up.

Ref link. You may have to copy and paste for your $20 www.empowr.com/boboxer

Sort:  

I think I am gonna try that empowr, being an early adopter has lots of benefits :)

It seems ok. They really encourage interaction and lots of posting - unlike Steemit. It really is more like normal social media with everything else except the kitchen sink thrown in. I think it may actually do well if the word gets out.

The more i look into it the more i like the idea. It is clunky in the open alpha stage, but can be cleaned up without too much trouble in time. I am thinking about buying a few coins because they match your purchase with founder's coins so that you truly own a piece of the platform.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46