Random Thoughts

in #moonbot6 years ago

With a free day on my hands, I decided to do a little research and reading up on blockchains. I have to say I am more encouraged about Steem. Yes, there are huge problems with it, but the fact that it is still so active gives me hope that it will come out on top even with competition nipping at it's heels. The smart media tokens and apps built on it may be rather sparse and unimpressive at the moment, but they are a beginning. Steepshot is meh due to the content, but it has a solid foundation. The same can be said for Dtube. I have not tried Esteem, but Busy is pretty good. The purpose of Steemhunt escapes me, but people seem to like it so it doesn't matter what I think. Zappl needs help. I want to like it but somebody has got to jump in there and work problems out. Actifit seems to be taking off, and I will use it once I have a phone that is compatible. I am sure there are others I have not tried, and hope somebody is working on a messenger app. A task app like Kryptonia would be cool, too.

All in all, these are a great start and the competition will have a lot of catching up to do if they want to take Steem's place. I will stick with it and may even transfer some crypto for Steem.

Sort:  

A free day!... I've often wondered what it would be like to have one of those.

Yes, i totally agree with you about Zappl. I think the main problem is only having 240 characters and that includes any tags. The tags should be separate, not counted in with the 240 characters.

I find Steepshot ok for throwing up a photo but it is very laggy on my galaxy S9+. It seems to take forever to publish the post. I don't think it has anything to do with the phone. It was the same on my old Xperia Z5 too. Also, on the Z5, if I try to select tags from the the list that appears, the app crashes and I have to start over. Now i just type my own tags just in case.

To be honest, none of the apps have any business on blockchain, which i think is best only for currency and personal communication, but blockchain is all the buzz at the moment despite poor performance. May as well ride that wave and get all those tokens until people wake up.

Nice random thoughts, I too think that overall steem block chain has a bright future ahead, lets see how things go after the hardfork and launch of SMTs. Seems like 2019 will be a great year. On a different note, I saw on the news this evening that we lost Aretha Franklin, I remember your earlier post. She is truly gonna be missed but she lives on through her music, may her soul RIP.

Thank you for the report. Much appreciated. Always good to hear an unbiased opinion.
A messenger App would be good. I have wondered why there isn't one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98