Tonight – December 13th 2016 is the Cold Moon

in #moon7 years ago (edited)

The Full Moon closest to Christmas – actually, it’s the closest Full Moon to the Longest Night, the Winter Solstice. I wonder what happens when the Cold Moon coincides with the actual Winter Solstice? I imagine it will be a magical celebration for not just Pagans, Wiccans and Vikings.

When I was in the throes of writing my second book, I had to research the phases of the moon because Werewolf lore is intertwined with the moon.

I got the idea of weaving Jack The Ripper into a Werewolf story, so imagine my frustration when I found that none of the murders were committed on a full moon.

What I did with the story has nothing whatsoever to do with this post, I was just leading you along my thought process to where I tell you why I did all that intensive research.

Now, one of the really cool things I found when researching full moons, gibbous moons, waxing and waning and eclipsed moons was that the Indigenous Tribes of America and Canada have names for each moon.

The Wolf Moon arrives in January to the sound of its namesake howling with hunger.

February brings the Snow Moon along with the heaviest snows of the winter.

The Crow Moon heralded in March by the start of Spring and softening of the ground. Sometimes called the Crust Moon because the snow thawing by day, re-freezing by night forms a crust.

The April Egg Moon or, Fish Moon on coasts is self-explanatory. Spring is sprung and birds are doing what birds and bees have been doing since before man walked the earth.

May sees the Flower moon or Milk Moon.

June’s Strawberry Moon was named by the Algonquin tribe.

Buck Moon, when bucks sprout their antlers or Thunder moon occurs in July

August’s Full Moon is known as the Sturgeon Moon, Red Moon, Grain Moon and Green Corn Moon.

The Harvest Moon in September has been utilised by farmers to harvest their crops by its light for centuries – on other continents too.

The Hunter’s Moon helps with October’s tasks too.

November has the Beaver moon or Frosty Moon – the name signifies the time to start setting traps for beavers.

Cold Moon, Yule Moon and Long Nights Moon are all names for December’s Full Moon.

What seems to be a more recent name is the ‘Supermoon’. I remember sometimes, the moon looked so big, it could easily have been within touching distance, if only I could get to somewhere high enough.

Blue Moons are an extra moon. Depending upon which rule you subscribe to, can either be the second full moon in a month or the fourth full moon in a season.

Images from Pixabay

Sort:  

huh...I never knew this about all the moon.....I love the sky and now I know there is a monthy salute to it. Good to know, thanks!

You're welcome :)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.58 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 13 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I love the moon...and I had no idea it had so many names through the year!
Where most may enjoy sunrise or sunset, I love watching the moon's path across the sky.

I love the moon too... it gets very peaceful if you take the time to stand watching it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63816.85
ETH 3134.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86