Part 2: Have you ever tried to photograph the moon?

in #moon6 years ago (edited)

The survival of an introvert in a Lunar Eclipse Public Viewing

Aside from the usual sentiments of an introvert and a demophobe, it seemed like the skies and the clouds were warning us that they will not be cooperating on this rare astronomical event.

I thought, “Even more justification to put off going to the observatory”.

At 7:36AM, I prayed for clear skies. I still was not 100% decided to go, but I prayed anyway.

But at 5:00PM, it cleared up. It was as if God was telling me, “Here you go, kiddo. You have been waiting for this. Your heart wants this. I am giving this to you. Let’s go!”.

I am usually stubborn, but during that time, I obeyed fast.

It was set. At 6:00PM, I decided that I will go to the nearest astronomical observatory and watch the lunar eclipse.

Look on up to the sky

I initially wanted to cancel because I just know that the PAGASA Observatory will be swarming with people. But my heart wanted this so bad so I resolved to set aside my uneasiness with crowds and went ahead.

One of the my best decisions in 2018 (and in life) so far.

I realized, it was actually fun to have watched with a crowd.

Here are just some of my highlights:

  • Interesting people. There was a dad who was patiently explaining to his daughter what was happening. There were lovers who looked like they were on a date. There were students who went to watch for extra credit in their subjects. There were photographers who employed their whatever-it-takes poses to capture a decent shot of the moon.
  • While staring at the ongoing eclipse, the crowd shouted because an airplane was about to pass through the same area...or at least in our line of sight, it was. Of course. we knew that the plane wouldn't be harmed. It was even funnier when the crowd cheered for the plane when it finally passed through successfully.
  • According to the press release from the Philippine Astronomical Society, the total lunar eclipse will start at 8:51PM. The observatory had a huge digital clock that the people were able to read. As soon as the clock displayed 8:51PM, we heard someone playing Total Eclipse of the Heart!!!!!! It was so funny, I almost forgot that I dislike crowds.

Overall, I had so much fun. I was singing Relient K's Look on Up and Panic's Northern Downpour while waiting for the eclipse.

Eventually, I kept thinking of Chris Tomlin's Indescribable. Only an awesome Being can make this happen.

It’s time I put down my devices and I start to live my life

Have you ever tried to photograph the moon?
Well, I have, too
I have, too
I find it funny how it never turns out right
It's like someone poked a pinhole in the canvas of the night

It was my first time to see an eclipse actually happening before my eyes. The setting was not the most ideal, but I realized, the setting did not matter.

Because all my complaints and worries were eclipsed by the beauty and glory of what we had the privilege of witnessing that night. I was seeing the real thing, unfiltered, and that is what makes it most breathtaking.

20180131_205602.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51460.37
ETH 2243.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01