Photograph the moon on your phone

in #moon7 years ago

Here are a few shots I took of the moon a while ago.
10386978_747471708730748_7350953037535756291_o (1).jpg

Yup. I know what you're thinking. "Pretty average pic of moon and a bit blurry. NASA do it better.
Indeed they do, but these pics were taken with my old Samsung Galaxy s2 and a fifty buck telescope I bought on the shiny stall in Aldi.
883071_747471988730720_115009289196939766_o.jpg

Nope, I don't think they'll win the Stephen Hawking prize for astronomy, but they do show what the average Joe can achieve for a little bit of money and a sense of silly.10557023_747472028730716_8259582769783681724_o.jpg

You can almost see the golf balls on that one if you stare really hard.
I simply set the phone camera to auto focus and took a deep breath, holding the lens over the eyepiece of the telescope.
Give it a go yourselves one night and post up some of your pics. I'd love to see them.
Does Stephen Hawking do prizes? Is he a whale on Steemit? We should be told.

Sort:  

Not bad at all considering your setup, amazed you got anyhing at all

Thanks! The phone is now sat in the drawer redundant. It's old and can't hold a charge, but it still takes better pics than my new one.
Now I'm waiting for Aldi to do a run on some new telescopes lol

I have a half decent telescope and a camera mount and a DSLR, all Im missing is the motivation to stand in the dark

Aaaaaaah but that would be all too state of the art. This is proper country bumpkin sky watching lol.
I envy you though. Would love to have that equipment.
Here I can sit out on the patio watching a light pollution free sky with a bottle of wine for a good few hours.

very impressive. I am going to try it as well.

upvoted

Thanks!
Might I suggest a less than full moon when you try?
As you can see, there's a lot of light from a full moon and a crescent gives a sharper edge I reckon

Wow! That looks pretty great! Especially considering it's from a phone! Smart to use a telescope! I tried taking a shot (not of the moon) using binoculars... didn't work! Ha

If I had a pair of binoculars I'd be giving that a go too. Takes some fiddling to get in a comfy position long enough to hit fire!
Obviously, with the scope on a tripod it makes it easier.

Very good shoots, I like photos of space objects.

Thank you. I appreciate you taking the time to view them and comment

You welcome.

What a neat little trick! I've been using my phone to do little 1 minute recap videos of things I'm doing throughout the day. Too many people get caught up with equipment and don't focus enough on just taking the photo or video!

Very much so. we need to use what we have available aye

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54096.18
ETH 2412.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.10