Order for a Carrot Cake! Monthly Author Challenge Day 5

in #monthlyauthorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

Was sitting here wondering what to do today, its all dark and gloomy outside. Mondays are bad enough but you add yucky weather to the mix and that can turn into a real bummer! Then, a tenant of one of the properties my hubby does renovation work at remembered I make cakes and she needed a Carrot Cake for her kiddos birthday that she just didnt have time to make. I go check to make sure I have all ingredients necessary because I sure dont want to get out in this yuck outside. I have carrots, coconut, raisins... perfect! But I dont have enough flour, or sugar for that matter! I DO have a spice cake in the pantry though! 2 problems solved in one, I can make the cake AND I have my post for the day taken care of! Im gonna tell you how to make a Semi-Homemade Carrot Cake using a box cake!

Any brand will do, as its just a base. The box takes care of the base ingredients, the flour, sugar, etc. To this youll add 3 eggs, 1 cup of water and either 1/3 cup oil or about 5 Tbsp of softened butter, I went with butter. Mix with stand mixer or hand mixer on a low speed until incorporated. Then scrape down all sides and the bottom, restart mixer and mix for about 2 minutes. Cake will look light and fluffy. Then add in 1/2 cup of raisins, 1/2 cup coconut and 1 cup of grated carrots. Fold in just until fully mixed. Split into two 9 inch round cake pans or a 9x12 pan. If doing in the rounds to make a layered cake, you will want to either grease and flour the pans or you can cut out parchment paper the size of the bottom of the pans. To do this, simply lay the pan onto of a large rectangle sheet of parchment paper, take a pen or pencil and trace around the outside of the bottom of the pan. Cut out circle with scissors. If you spray the bottom of the pan with non stick spray before placing parchment it stay in place. Evenly distribute cake batter in between pans and smooth. Bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for 22-25 minutes, or until a tooth pick comes out clean when sticking it in the middle of cake. Let rest for 10 minutes and then carefully remove cakes from pans and allow to rest until completely cooled.

Next, we work on the frosting! None other than Cream Cheese Frosting for a Carrot Cake! I always make my own icing, even when taking a shortcut on the cake itself. Theres just no beating a homemade frosting!
2 Sticks of butter, at room temperature
1 package of cream cheese, room temperature
4 cups of powder sugar
1 tsp of vanilla
1-2 Tbsp of cream or milk

-Stick butter and cream cheese in a mixer, mix until fully incorporated. Scrape sides and give another quick mix on high. Add powder sugar a 1/2 cup at a time, as to not get sugar all over the place and mix until incorporated. When all sugar is in mixer add in vanilla and cream a tablespoon at a time until your desired consistency.

For this cake I decided to make some toasted coconut for the topping and chopped pecans. For the toasted coconut, just put in a small pan and toast on a medium heat until it starts to brown, continue to stir to avoid burning. When its brown enough for your liking lay flat on paper towel and allow to cool completely before topping cake.
Then, Bon appetit!

Wish I could have gotten a picture with the first cut. The best thing about Carrot Cake is how moist it comes out! I may have to make the family some soon! Hope you enjoy!
Until next time Steemians,
Peace, love and cake! :)

Sort:  

As it looks awsome. Hope it woiuld be tasty moe.
Here in Paakistn we cook Carrot Pudding. You can read here Carrot Pudding, sweet Dish

Thank you! Ill give it a look!

This post received a free Upvote. Get your free Upvote NOW! Just follow @upvoteforfree

Looks very yummy although, to be honest I'm not a big fan of carrot cake. My partner loves it though so it would be welcome in this household!

Thank you! I hear ya, I think any cake would be a welcomed treat in this house. I dont feed them very many sweets (Ever see a 3 year old after a piece of cake, ohh lord! And the hubby isnt much better! :D) so when we do have them its a big treat!

I am still learning to bake. I will make use of this recipe because the photos had me drooling since I got here. crave a dessert now.

Awesome! I love baking! This makes it very simple to turn an okay cake into something wonderful!

This is definitely a work of art

Well, thank you! :)

Beautiful cake...smelled great, too! Sophie couldn't figure out why she couldn't have any! Poor baby! Upvoted, resteemed

Thank you! Yes, she wanted a piece badly!

Yum! Looks amazing!

Thanks sis! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58630.93
ETH 2517.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35