Daily Movement

Hallo forward thinkers...so continuing on with the #monthlyauthorchange that I was thinking on skipping today...I decided to write about doing things daily. All though I am against challenges and contests, which is why I wanted to skip, just in protest, however, as I have written in the past, and do believe still, daily journaling is a good habit...and this Is a great way for the #Steemian community to see some of the activities I do daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, and even yearly.

Another good daily habit is movement...and when we have responsibilities, one does not need to think about movement...yet, as one has less and less duties...the amount of necessary movement continues to decrease...often close to stagnation...to the point physical activity becomes a labor and a chore...that being a possibility, I thought it would be a good idea to add gardening/farming...because it is a hobby that benefits from daily interaction with rewards for ones effort.

Upon my research before starting this endeavor, I constantly heard the key to a successful garden is the soil...which is the reason I started my journey with an inside garden, via hydroponics, as I prepared the soil for the outside garden...a process that has taken me three seasons and will be elaborated upon in a future post. With my continue exploration to improve...I came across a farming system that the Mayans utilized...called aquaponics.

image

This is my homemade aquaponics system...made from an old bed frame, box spring, toilet, packing containers, pvc, tubing and a water pump. The concept is to maximize a natural phenomenon found in Mother Nature where fish and rock supply plants with the nutrients to grow and flourish.

How it works is one feeds the fish...the fish eat the food and release excrement, which is pumped to another container (that drains back into the fish container) that is filled with rocks and plants...the plants extracted the nitrogen while the rocks filter the water...thus purifying the water as it returns to the fish tank.

image
image

Not only is this system efficient...it provides a steady stream of water with nutrients that I am able to use when watering the plants in my green house.

image

This setup allows me to continue gardening/farming year round...being able to move the plants from the hydroponics...to the aquaponics...to the green house...and finally outside to a radiant sun.

That being said, and having completed day 3 of the #monthlyauthorchallenge ...it is time to put out the solar lighting system, feed the fish, water the plants, enjoy some of my harvest and say kwaheri til next time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81