My 1st (3 months) of living and working experience here in Dubai - United Arab Emirates

in #month4 years ago

Last Dec 2018, Some of my colleagues, Friends, and co-workers told me that there will be an employer from Dubai that will visit Phillipine to find 10 qualified technicians to work for him. So without hesitation, I take my chances to go and try to get that work opportunity.

I know that job opportunities in the UAE would be a great way for my whole career because I will get the chance to go in a country. That visa is one of the best visas.

You can visit the best UAE based tourist places with that visa. Having a multipurpose visa saves our time and effort to apply for other countries visas that we need when we go overseas, especially for travelers.

And let us go back to the story 😂

But before the employer will choose the 10technician that he wants, first we need to have a trade test, it's a test that we need to carve a tooth on a dental wax.

Unfortunately, that time, my skills on the carving is already departed, not totally gone but its like i can't carve a good looking tooth because since I started to work, my position in my company that time is a Dental CAD (Computer-Aided-Design) Designer Technician ever since, meaning I'm working using a computer and sadly the hands-on skills that I studied at school is already gone because it's almost a year passed by when I graduated.

So I only have a slim chance to be picked as one of the ten technicians he needs if he will be choosing the technicians based on their carvings. But before the trade test starts, he asks if there is someone has knowledge on CADCAM, and the only one who raises the hand is me 😄.

The interesting part is after I got told about the employer, I knew that he will ask for a technician with a CADCAM knowledge so I already anticipate of what will happen but of course I also knew that carving will be the test for us.

So what did I do is I saved my designs of my work on my cell phone in case that the employer will ask for it. Surprisingly what happens on the trade test was the scenario of what I've been thinking. He asks me if I have some of my sample designs and I showed it to him then he already says, "you're in".

That time I don't know what to say because I didn't expect to be chosen out of 60+ technicians who came on that day. All of them were shocked that I got chosen easily, but even though I'm already in, the employer still asks me to do the carving. And he gives us 30 minutes for carving.

After that I finished my carving, it's looking terrible 😂. But it's no big deal for the employer because he knows that my skills are not in the hands-on, but on the digital. So after the trade test, he already picked the lucky 10 dental technicians that will be working for him soon. He gave us instructions to prepare our documents we need to be able to go in UAE. And after we talk on how we will complete the documents that we needed, he leaves the Philippines and promised to be back as soon as our documents are ready and when the time he came back, that's the time that we will start to work on
UAE.

So we've been told to rush the documents we needed, there were sometimes that I need to absent from my work just to gather and complete my requirements. But it's no big deal for me because I know there is much better opportunity awaits me.
After 2 months of completing our documents, we told the employer that we already complete the documents he needed, but then there is one problem, there is no embassy of Poland in our country to stamp working visa for us. So he's planning to take us to Malaysia first to apply for a working visa. Then he says to us that just stay put and wait for him again. But 5 months have passed, still no update from him until this February 2017 he gave an update on our work. He says that our work in Poland is canceled. That time I already resigned from my last company because I anticipate my work opportunity from him. But he said that instead in Poland, he will divert our work in Malaysia, he has another laboratory there. So I'm still happy at that time because I still have the work opportunity to him. But again, the employer cant give us the exact date of when we will start to work until last September 2017, I totally lost my hopes to work for him. Imagine I wait for almost 1 year for him then it ended up nothing ☹️☹️. That's the time I start to look on the internet for job opportunities abroad. The good thing is there are plenty of websites on google that you can look for a particular job in a particular place you want. This website is the reason why I got my job here in UAE (Uaeadvise.com). If some of you looking for a job, or if some of your relatives are hoping for a job, click here to visit the uae advise website. I uploaded my cv to the website so every company can check my cv even if I didn't apply for them. And that's what happens to me, everyday I checked the website for a job opening on the cadcam technician, I always submit my cv to different labs who are looking for a CADCAM technician, unfortunately I didn't receive any response from any of the laboratories that I applied. After trying and trying on that website for almost 3 months, I ended applying to a local laboratory because I'm losing hope that I can find my job on the internet, that time I really needed to have worked because I need to give financial support to my family. And one day, after I came to a company and apply to them. I was on the bus to get back home, and that time I'm already got a yes on that company and I just need to submit the requirements they needed. Suddenly I received a call from a dental lab company in UAE. And that time I was not expecting to have a job offer abroad because I already lose my hopes to find a work overseas. And after that call, the company gives me only almost 1 month to prepare my documents and my self for leaving the country and fly to UAE. Honestly, when I got the job offer, I was so excited to go, because I have a much much higher salary in UAE than here in the Philippines, it's like x5 of my ph salary and I will get that here on UAE in just 1 month. But while the time passing by, I'm starting to realize that I will be gone for 2 years without my family beside me. And that's what worries me because of im, not an independent person. I can't cook for my self, except fry dishes 😅. And after many weeks of preparation, the time has come. My things are ready, my passport is ready, my documents are ready, my plane ticket is ready, but the question is, Am I ready? On my very last day of stay in our home, I cherished every minute, every second that passed by, because I know it will take 2 or more years before I got the chance to live again in our home sweet home.

My flight is scheduled on December 4, 2017, bound to Hong Kong. I know you're wondering why I need to go to Hong Kong if my work is in UAE, it's because I will be exiting on hong kong as a tourist and then fly again to UAE. I know it sounds illegal for some, but trust me this is one of the easiest ways to go in the United Arab Emirates in my situation. But I don't recommend it to everybody, because its too risky and maybe it's ok to do it if you have close friends or somebody that you can contact in case there's something bad happens to you on the country that you will visit. I take the tourist visa because I don't have any relatives here on UAE so no one can apply for my sponsorship. But if I take the safest and legal way to go here in UAE and that is thru agency, they will process my documents for a working visa but it will take too long and my company needed me asap so I decided to go as tourist. Some of my relatives and friends says I'm so brave that I'm willing take my chances to leave the Philippines with an only tourist visa. Because if the immigration on the Philippines or in hong kong or UAE questions my visit in their country, I can explain though, but if they ask for more information or my true intentions of going to their country, that's the time I will face problems and the worst-case scenario is I will be deported back to the Philippines. But luckily, all the 3 immigrations that I've been encountered (Ph Immigration, HK immigration, Dxb

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59370.83
ETH 2591.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46