howto – why I love night photography, and why you should to

in #monomad5 years ago (edited)

After the long period of posting the only on film has taken photographs series, I feel that I have to return back to one of my favorite kind of photography – low light condition photography or in other words – night photography. “in my previous posts” I said everything about the reasons of this interest (even the real love should have no reasons), so today I would like to talk about “how to” – how to shoot in deep darkness with only spots of a weak light.

As usual, I use fast lenses for my night walks. mostly it’s Sigma 35mm f/1.4 Art lens or Canon 50mm with the same max available aperture. some time ago my only set for this kind of shots was f/1.4, ISO 1600 or 3200 and auto shutter speed. but once, when I walked with Ricoh GR1s with ISO 400 film, I took a few night scenes with built it an f/2.8 lens of this camera and got very interesting results which changed my main configuration. I decided to change aperture priority to shutter speed priority and to forget about f/1.4 because with less fast shutter I can use lower than 1.4 aperture and have longer hyperfocal distance. plus I found that for better results I have to compensate an exposure to around one stop with the goal to bring more light to my frames. of course, I understand that for every specific camera and taste this may be different and may be detected only with experiments. the shutter speed I use for my night walks is around 1/30-125, very occasionally faster but mainly in this window of speed. I don’t look for the perfect frozen moving objects – I choose the speed of my camera shutter by my vision how long and blurred the trace of this object I would like to get.

these two images after which I changed my night photography camera set – taken on Film with Ricoh GR1s :

All info, text, and images belong to me and taken from my own essay -
http://www.victorbezrukov.com/howto-love-night-photography-you-should-too/
Photography © Victor Bezrukov

Sort:  

Sweet stuff!

thank you !

This is great! Beautiful images and helpful information. Thanks.

thank you for resteeming and very kind words!

You’re very welcome. Have a great day.

yes yes you too !

Congratulations. Today's #monomad first place is yours. Thank You very much for participating.

Stunning light and dynamics in these photos. Thank you for the excellent work, I am in love with these photos!

thank you for taking a look and for very kind words !

Great night shots, Love your b&w work. And some good information on night shots. Bookmarked it also.

Posted using Partiko Android

huge thank you !!

Some really amazing shots. Thanks for sharing them and explaining your set up!

Posted using Partiko Android

thank you for the kind words :-)

Congratulations @victorbz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 11000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 12000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You got a 22.13% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @victorbz! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

What an awesome series of night shot slove them all

exactly this moment i finished to write and published my next series about the night photography - this time all taken with Ricoh GRii :-)
thank you for the kind words my friend !

I have heard good things about that canera

yes i can confirm that its wonderful from my point of view and for my needs. :-)

Thats great IU know a couple of people who have it and love it as well :)

All pretty cool shots night time photography does have it's fun about it i do love it especially in B&W :)

huge thank you for taking a look and for the kind words ! i'm in love with the night photography and ready to hunt the dark streets without stop :-)
will post at evening another new series - everything taken with the Ricoh GRii camera :-)
have a nice weekend!

My pleasure your welcome and will check in on your new series later be careful in them dark alleys you never know what can jump out at you...lol :)

you're right! but I'm very curious :-))))))

I am the same way ...lol...i love adventures :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75