Monamad Sunday Skies - Port Washington, Wisconsin

in #monomad7 years ago

I made a Friday Blue Color Challenge post about this lighthouse and view of Lake Michigan two months ago that you can see here.

I grew up with this lighthouse about 10 miles away from my house so it's just one of those places I've always known and loved. And like I said in the color post of this picture, don't be fooled. It was FREEZING when I took this photo especially with a biting, cold wind. But I walked out to the end of the pier and took photos at the lighthouse with my dad. I chose this for a #monomad entry because in the black and white, the lake and lighthouse really fall away while the clouds in the sky become more prominent. While I love this photo, I have no interest in walking out here in that kind of weather again!

Thanks to @brumest for creating and curating the daily #monomad contest!

PWLighthouse.jpg

!steemitworldmap 43.3872 lat -87.8756 long Port Washington WI d3scr

schmidthappens_red.png

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=schmidthappens
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=monamad-sunday-skies-port-washington-wisconsin


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Lighthouses make the perfect photo!

Wow that is such a cool dock !

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 15 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Gorgeous shot dude! That jetty/pier is awesome, really nice shapes! My wife and I have a bit of a shared dream of living somewhere by a lake or by the sea, I guess ideally a lake. Water's always just so peaceful!

Yeah, I could see you guys enjoying a place by the ocean or a lake. It's funny, I lived much closer to the ocean when I first moved to LA and then I kept moving further and further away from it!

Do you walk on the white things???

Yeah, the size of the photo is a little misleading. Those are giant concrete pillars that I think go all the way into the lake floor. Once those end, the walkway gets more narrow out to the lighthouse but it's still stable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49