Family Matters - #monomad Thursday Challenge

in #monomad6 years ago

a singapore zoo.jpg

Many years ago I was backpacking through Southeast Asia.

On one leg of my trip I ended up in Singapore. My plan was to be there a couple days and move onwards and upwards to Malaysia. I'd heard the city/state/country was cool, but unless you planned to drop some big money, there wasn't too much to do.

But, as luck would have it, I ended up having to stay there for 10 days waiting for some mail to catch up to me. Losing a credit card while you're traveling is a bear to deal with. No pun intended. Since I had a bunch of time I had to figure some things to do. I mean, wandering streets eating food is fun and all, but there had to be some memorable sites as well.

That's where the zoo came into the picture.

Once again, no pun intended. Apparently really famous worldwide for the variety of animals and quality of their domains, I set aside a day to check it out. Being Singapore, it was a bit pricey, but how many times in your life do you find yourself in a place like this with an opportunity like this? There was a small discount for grabbing the day and night zoo tickets so that's what I did. The night zoo bit I'll talk about in a different post.

I'm not normally a huge fan of zoos. Watching animals in cages, as educational as it may be, doesn't appeal to my sense of freedom. True, some species are preserved from extinction this way, buuuuuut, my first thought is, 'how about we stop screwing up their habitats for our capitalistic greed?' But, that's just me. The enclosures looked great, and I'm (pretty) sure the animals weren't suffering. This is definitely a place where you won't get bored.

I caught the above shot and it stuck out to me.

Something about the postures, sight lines, and mood of it all. Like any other family...but not human. We tend to think ourselves as so much better than every other species. But how different are we really?

Anyways...this is my entry for the #monomad daily photo challenge hosted by the amazing photographer @brumest. Check his work and his daily photographic challenge. You won't be disappointed :)

Similar Posts
We're all just human - #monomad Tuesday Challenge
Catch those ZZZ's while you can - #monomad Tuesday Challenge
I dream of brilliant skies and wide oceans - #monomad Sunday Challenge



Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mikesthoughts
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=family-matters-monomad-thursday-challenge


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

The baby is so precious. And yes they are much like any family. We tend to suffer too much from cleverness sometimes to just be. Nice work brother. Peace.

Exactly :) Sometimes too clever for our own good.

Zoo's are defnitely a win / lose element. Like you say, without them some animals would be driven to extinction, but it preserves a state of unatural being. These animals were meant to live free. So true, if we would stop wiping them out and leave their habitat alone there would be plenty to see and as nature intended... But with the world the way it is these days, I fear that may never happen.

That's why it's so good to get some photos of them, nothing lasts forever and so a still capture on film is worth so very much :-) I often think of that photographer who has the last known photo taken of the River Dolphin in China before they fell extinct... Heavy thought.

Ugh. It is a heavy though. Get ready for mass extinctions though as we head into the next decade. We thought it was bad before...next up is the middle class! lol sad face

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76