You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thursday Animals "Heron"

in #monomad6 years ago

@brumest, I think we have a winner here. @youhavewings, what a great picture and now that you mention it, they do seem to be very much loners. Having lived the past 4 1/2 years in Florida I feel like I should know more about these magnificent birds. Thank you for the education.

I think this bird is from the Heron family as well. Although I don't take such good photos.
Heron.JPG

Sort:  

@jbreheny - They are very difficult to take photos of unless they are in that observation/hunting mode. My little Nikon coolpix (very old) has a telephoto so the bird wasn't as alarmed. However, as we followed him across the lake, he was well-aware of us there (we aren't very good bird photographers ;) Ooohing and awwwing). I'd get him within focus and he'd move or fly off right away - all those photos are blurred.

They truly are beautiful and graceful birds though - such a big presence. Special.

I agree. They are awesome birds. We got to see a bright red Cardinal yesterday at the park we were staying in. We didn't get an opportunity to take any pictures.

Well, maybe you'll have another opportunity. They seem to stick close to home and with their mate - look for mama cardinal (she will be light brown). And listen for their little calls: https://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Northern_Cardinal/sounds

we’ve moved to a new site and aren’t seeing many birds now. :-(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61083.24
ETH 2670.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61