Monomad Saturday Silhouettes: Catbirds

in #monomad6 years ago

I had watched this pair of catbirds frequenting my parents' bird feeders from a number of angles while I was visiting my Dad. One day when I'd been out with the camera, I caught them like this when I came back...

catbirdsilhouette.JPG

So they were in the shadow of the porch but backlit by the angle of the sun, giving this very nice silhouette effect of the pair at the suet feeder. The vines are hops and the net is intended to support the hops when it spreads, but it's early in the season yet for the dense growth that will come later.

And yes, it's a log house.

Sort:  

Birds are beautiful in the forest

Congratulations, @bex-dk. This shot got you the second place in this week's #monomad Silhouettes challenge. Thanks for participating!

very pretty ^_^, congrats

Beautiful shot! The background textures are so rich. Love this one!

I am pretty happy with it, especially considering I had no clue what I was doing. But that one was done with camera in b&w mode as opposed to post processing to desaturate. I can't decide if it makes a difference in the quality. But I kinda like having control of HOW it desaturates. I often see a pretty big difference in lightness vs luminosity when I do it in GIMP, whatever the heck those things mean. It varies by subject which I pick. I've used average a few times also.

Very nice silhouette of the Gray Catbirds. I didn't know that they came to suet. It sounds like you need to add birding to your long list of interests. Birding is my passion in life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19