MonoMad Macro / Monochrome Monday "Sand Dollar"

in #monomad7 years ago

sanddollar-mono.JPG

I am no expert in shells and beach life. I grew up a bit inland, mostly visiting maybe one day a summer if that. And now I'm in a whole different part of the world. My husband never worried much about what things were on the beaches, unless they needed to know to eat them or avoid them, so asking him isn't much help. Everything was there all the time so it wasn't something to be excited about. My best guess is that this is related to sand dollars, although rounder and puffier as well as much smaller in diameter.

Sort:  

Those fine patterns of what look like tiny indentations seem very unusual. It's a lovely shot.

It's the pattern of the shell from the inside. Not sure whether you have anything similar where you live. This is on the Kattegat coast.

I've found one of these...(Greece-Koufonisia)
A fisherman once told me that it's created by the bigger star fish...
Very nice!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50