Flown the coop

in #monochromes6 years ago

bird house.jpg

This forlorn pigeon loft sits on top of the rocks in a corner of my place. I'm told that one of the previous inhabitants kept fancy pigeons but it hasn't been used in at least 15 years and just sits there year in and year out. I've considered making a new thatch covering and seeing if owls will nest in it. There are owls in the area - we hear them from time to time although I am not sure if it is big enough for owls. Then there is the little issue of my cats objecting to sharing the rats. I sure as hell don't want pigeons back, though.

Sort:  

it is difficult for the dove to return to the lonteng again because the lonteng has been inhabited by other creatures such as mice or others.

No mice there, it is mounted on a pole and the wide base keeps rodents out. I don't want the doves to come back, they are a messy nuisance

why don't you like pigeons ,, ??

@nikv, aliens could easily exist there because all they are is just other life forms on a different planet. All they need to be able to exist is to be in a solar systems Goldilocks zone wheres its not to hot or not to cold. Be careful ahaha!!

We have a major problem with pigeons here in NM. For whatever reason they are protected and thereby cannot be killed. (not that I condone such action). We have an old defunct AC unit on our store roof that is vented directly into the store. Pigeons have been nesting in there and you can hear them in the store, not to mention the mess. we are constantly having to clean debris and feathers that fall through the vent. I brought the issue up with the landlord but he says he can't do anything about it. By the way, I posted the ugly rock. Have you seen it?

I once lived in a place overrun with pigeons. They are a curse. If I were you, I'd wait for winter, when they won't be nesting, and chase the adults out and seal the vent entrance with chicken wire so that they cant get in. Easy and cheap fix if the landlord won't do anything. You could also call in health inspectors, who will force him to do something about it. They do pose a health-hazard

Who would not have lived there before, the photo turned out to be mystical!
Primitive flying saucer of aliens! :-)))
I really liked the photo!

Thank you! I think it's just a standard old garden coop from the 1980's

Maybe owls are waiting for you to remodelate it to call it their new home, who knows! It's a qorld full of posibilities.

I was just looking at owl box designs online. I don't think it's suitable but I'll give it a try. Otherwise, I will decorate it and turn it into a little haunted bird-house :-)

Oooo try the haunted one!

Very original nest for birds. We have such houses called dovecotes.

Owls would be beautiful to have around, hopefully you can encourage them to come.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63