Monochrome Monday: Goddess of Knowledge

in #monochromemonday7 years ago

2017-08-14 07.41.28.jpg

This bronze statue is called Saraswati which refers to the Goddess of Knowledge. It was made by students of the Indonesia Institute of the Arts in Yogyakarta. It is a fitting figure for the Australian National Univetsity campus. You can find lots of interesting sculptures on the grounds but this one is my favourite.

According to the sculpture guide, this goddess is much more modest than the traditional depictions which feature a more lavishly dressed woman holding a palmleaf manuscript.

Photo taken with my Samsung Galaxy s5.
@snooway

Sort:  

What a lovely statue. I love all aspects of travel especially in Southeast Asia. I've followed you.

Thank you for the follow!

Wow, they did a hell of a job! It must have taken a lot of hard work and talent to make that statue.

Yes I agree

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67527.39
ETH 3259.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64