Monochrome Monday - This or That?

in #monochromemonday6 years ago (edited)

Many times, when I convert an image to black and white, I go back and forth over which image I prefer so today, I thought I would include you in this flip flopping exercise. I don't think choosing favorites is of utmost importance but it is fun to hear other people's thoughts and opinions. After all, this is SOCIAL media so let's be social, shall we?


This post features a few of the shots I got last week while hiking my way around California's central coast. I am giving you both the black and white and color version for your consideration. If you feel led, tell me in the comments below which version floats your boat.



Dewy, wavy deliciousness.jpg

Dewy, wavy deliciousness-color.jpg
Late winter, early spring is the time you start to see the Soap Lilies making their appearance at Fort Ord National Monument. Their long wavy leaves catch the dew and raindrops quite nicely.



Point Lobos Pine Cone B&W.jpg

Point Lobos Pine Cone Color.jpg
I found these cones from a Monterey pine tree perfectly lit while I was on the trail from the highway to the beach at Point Lobos State Reserve.



Point Lobos Seaweed B&W.jpg

Point Lobos Seaweed Color.jpg
Once on the beach at Point Lobos, I came across this pit full of seaweed soup. It was quite stinky and the flies, they were a swarmin' but I felt compelled to get the shot. According to my research on kelp anatomy, those pods are called bladders...I did not know that...did you?



There you have it! I have formed a solid opinion on one of the three sets of photos but, let me know, did you like this or that...black and white or color? I also welcome any other comments you might have for me. Thanks for coming along for the ride!



Thanks to @old-guy-photos for making #monochromemonday such an excellent part of our Steemit experience!

Steemit USA footer.png

Sort:  

In my opinion, at least based on my own instagram, everything looks better in black and white, but for other people sake there must be a balance, since people start asking questions after 5th post.. Are you okay, depressed etc :)

Btw, I love the shots, keep posting :)

Black and white has a way of revealing the simple beauty/essence of things, doesn't it? How funny, do people really ask you if you are okay? I do try to strike a balance on Instagram but I seem to get a better response to my B&W posts...go figure!

Thanks for stopping by, taking a look and most of all for your kind words!

Maybe I am just hungry or something but the black and white made the opening shot look like bacon. I love the mystery and transformation a black and white can offer but in the end, I'm in favor of color.

You are a bacon lovin' woman after my own heart! :D

Aha! A color fan! Thank you so much for weighing in. I appreciate it very much.

I like the bw version of all three. The first pic to blend the background with everything. I prefer the second pic in color. However, the bw gives it sort of a more tragic feel because the stick looks like a man who is weighed down by his big balls :D

LOL! I will never look at that picture the same way again!

Thank you so much for your input!

Hmm, I wonder where you got your idea to lay down and shoot up, instead of doing it upside-down??? ;)

I had my legs up over the back of the couch and my head hanging over the edge of the seat (my eyes were bulging out of my head!) I was about as upside-down as I could be without risking injury. (that $5 prize isn't gonna pay the doctor bills, you know what I'm sayin'?) There is only so much you can do when you need a hand free to take the selfie! Do you have any other suggestions that I can try and post here? ;)

First photo - black & white
Second photo - I like both versions 👍

Thanks for sharing your opinion!

I think each photo each way brings a different message of perspective. That is all the choice of the artist.

So many tones set and messages to convey...isn't life grand?!

Thanks for stopping by and please pardon the delay in my response.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59907.23
ETH 2647.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43