Old and new. Side by side in harmony here in my beautiful Wuerzburg! Monochromemonday!

People talk controversial about newly built architecture here in Wuerzburg. There is this bank building right in the middle of the market place on a spot that were empty all the years afte World War II and its massive destructions. (Before 1945 there was a building at this place). It "disturbs" the view over to the castle, people say. 

For me it is complementing the cityscape of my nowadays hometown perfectly. It has the same hight as the buildings around, similar materials are installed on its facade and it's - modern architecture! Sure. I like it. And one can still move, to look around the corner, to see the world from a new perspective ... All the old stuff was new some day before!


This is the bank building from two different perspectives including two famous and important city sights: the castle Marienberg and the Clocktower of the City Hall. They are my contribution to #monochromemonday by @old-guy-photos. The photos were made with my Nikon COOLPIX S9600.

Sort:  

I love, love, love Wuerzburg and the incredible baroque and I think it was rococo architecture.

My cousin lived there when I lived outside of Bitburger (Oh, how I miss living near Bitburger Pils Brewery!) and so we spent a lot of time there. A trip there always meant I got to bring some awesome wine home!

I thought for sure you would show the castle. That was the only place in Europe that (practically) had a castle in each town!

Your mono's are splendid! The mix of new and old is a wonderfully eclectic way to blend. It is beautiful! tip!

😄 Yes true! You are right, that's how it looks like - at least if you drive along the rivers Main, Rhein or Mosel. Thank you for your words and your support! I appreciate this a lot!
When did you live in Bitburg?

Great photos, and it appears they put a lot of thought into the design of the new building to make it fit in.

True! They did! At least in my opinion! Thank you!

aw wuerzburg <3 tolle stadt...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74