Sort:  

You don't see so many of these around any more, mainly because they don't come with a "Fire Retardant" tag and the people that can afford these amazing period houses are also quite fond of scented candles.

Superb photo in black and white, you can not deny a thatched roof certainly gives a building a very noble and rustic feel. I took the liberty of looking up areas of the UK that have the best thatched roofs, and this one from Oxfordshire has some snow - one thing to notice compared to standard building roofs where the snow often melts off straight away in patches as the interior housing heating bleeds through the tile gaps and poor insulation - a thatched roof is so amazingly well insulated that the snow remains an even thickness all over.

thatched-cottages-great-tew-oxford.jpg
source

You are right. The thatched roof is very 'thermally efficient' as we can see by the snow settling on this roof. Most modern houses are pretty poor in terms of insulation that's why we have to add those big pink blankets of fibre glass in the loft spaces.
The average cost to replace a basic thatch is about £30 K+
There are loads of these thatch cottages in Cambridgeshire. :-) #justsaying lol

So charming! Now I must go see if I can figure out why autovoter has not already upvoted this.

I think it is down right now. It hasn't worked for days. They are switching over to a new setup?
I've been doing it all my voting manually since before HF20. Hard feeing work lol

Hmmm. I thought some of my votes have gone out. I need to pay better attention!

It's all been rather distracting what with HF20 and that clone site springing up too. :-) I do wonder if that other thing will ever amount to anything though?

After looking at it more closely I suspect that it is completely fraudulent. I'm not wasting my time there.

I suspect you are right.

I can see why it catches you attention what a cool shto and it looks awesoem in Mono

It is a pretty little cottage and if you take the car out of the image it could be a photo from way back in the past.

Yeah and if you could photoshop in a horse and buggy it would really be way back

The detail on the roof is cool!

You get a lot of these little straw art items on the thatched roofs. I saw another one today.

London the 16th - 17th century think it looks very good if there were many homes like this one. The roof is of reed?

It's made from straw but it's the same kind of thing really. A very old way of making a roof. The whole of London was made like this. The only stone buildings were churches and castles etc?

Churches and castles that resisted, the rest was easy prey for the fire, of course. I think it's remarkable that this is still there.

How I'd love to visit some of these quintessential English cottages .............inside and out. This one is oozing charm and fascination for me. Looks great in both monochrome and colour @molometer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49