Monochrome Monday – Crane Fly

This time of year the crane flies like to come out and tumble around flying kind of low on the ground. There not the fastest most graceful flying insects but I think they are fun to watch. It seems like they get blown around by the wind more than anything else.

I saw one up in the window just peacefully hanging around. They only live for a couple of days in the fly form so I thought it would be moving on soon. It just stayed there for the longest time. Perhaps it had already done everything it needed to do. The eggs were all safely laid in the garden for starting the next generation of larvae - who knows.

I kind of felt honored that it would choose to hang out on my window for such a large portion of its time as a flying insect.

craneFly.jpg
The Crane Fly – click for viewing full screen

When I first saw these insects they reminded me of giant blood sucking mosquitoes; I certainly didn’t want to end up having one them making a blood meal out of me. But they are much too slow and they don’t bite.

The picture came out monochrome looking straight out of the smart-phone. I thought it would work well for Monochrome Monday.


Thanks for reading! I always value your support! Special thanks to @old-guy-photos for hosting monochromemonday. The pictures were taken by me with my Galaxy S9+. Text and graphics copyright 10/1/2018 Lightsplasher & Litesplasher.

Sort:  

Very beautiful posts, my best friend, I really like this spider, does this spider stand in your house

This animal if I call a small spider, this spider is very cool and he lives comfortably on top of the pitch, and is not disturbed by us humans, I really like the spider, thank you for sharing my dear friend @lightsplasher

This looks like a big mosquito in terms of its appearance and morphology. But I believe this is another unique specie of mosquito the major carrier of malaria sickness. But the photo looks really unique and of high quality @lightsplasher

good shot.

I saw that once many years ago and I also thought that it was a giant mosquito. I tried to catch it to show that I have discovered another species of mosquitoes but it flew away before I could hold it @lightsplasher

Great shot and thank goodness they don't want to suck blood!

Hello. my friend @lightsplasher I think that too like the friend thinks, in my opinion this is also a giant blood-sucking mosquito.

Yes indeed he was giving you a natural monochromeMonday shot! TBH I thought they were male mosquitoes, I had no clue LOL! Always fun to see you in the tag!

Hi @lightsplasher!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.429 which ranks you at #2052 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 369 contributions, your post is ranked at #66.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78