Monochrome Monday: Orchids in a Row


Today I made the long 1.5 hour drive down south towards Sarasota for a visit to Marie Selby Botanical Gardens. I've been wanting to visit this place for a while now but the long drive has kept me from doing so. Since I haven't had time lately to get out and take some pics, I decided to make the trek down to Sarasota to see what everyone is talking about.

Not only do they have some gorgeous gardens that are extremely well cared for within the 15 acres the gardens call home, but they also have rotating art exhibits. The majority of the art pieces are found inside one of the buildings on the premises but there are also a few scattered around throughout the gardens, like this colorful piece that was in the orchid greenhouse.

The art on display until early September is a collection of blown glass made locally in St. Petersburg, FL by some truly talented artists. Pictured below is what was probably my favorite piece I found while strolling through the gardens.
photos captured with Canon 80D/18-135mm

Thanks for stopping by!

follow me @liberty-minded




#thealliance #steemusa
until next time...

Sort:  

Nicd photos! Blown glass is interesting. Have you ever watched a glass blower work? It's pretty intense.

There are some huge blown-glass sculptures at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN. They look like a cross between flowers and tenticle-monsters. I'll have to take some pics sometime. Maybe the next time I'm in there for excruciating eye exam...

Always appreciated bud, I've never seen it done in person but on the boob tube. It's definitely a pretty heated and intense art form for sure. The pieces in the clinic might be some Chihuly's...they are amazing!

Good photos. Every day is monochrome for me at the moment, I'm becoming obsessed.

monochrome is always fun to play with, especially when it comes to lighting and shadows! Do you take the raw shots in mono or edit them?

These are great shots! I live near a botanical garden and love to go there often to clear my head! I hope to see more of your botanical garden ventures!

never a wasted trip spent enjoying a nice botanical garden...used to constantly visit the one near my last office during lunch break for pictures or just to hang out and relax

Very nicely done! I have just started the Monochrome Monday challenge. Motivating to say the least!

I did! Did you see my post?

just wrote that comment...lol...patience grasshoppa!

I can't jump that high. LOL

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Liberty-Minded from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

excellent photography amazing wow

excellent copy/paste comment...this used to be a community, people like you are ruining it

Super duper very excellent. LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76