You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Monochrome Monday - storm damage.

in #monochromemonday7 years ago (edited)

She was classified as Ex-hurricane, gusting at 158kph around Cork. Cork GAA stadium had extensive damage to the roof. Roofs also were ripped off around the country. Many, many trees down...we are a very rural country.
Listening to the high winds was actually pretty awesome. Nature at it's wild best, roaring.
I'm right next to forests,and I am lucky that the direction of the wind broke a large tree next to my cottage and pushed it into the next field.
However, now the wind direction has changed leaving gales blowing towards my roof.

Sort:  

My family in Scotland are bracing for it now , although they are on the east coast, so the mountains sometimes lessen the effects before they get it. Those gales can be as strong as any hurricane. I've experienced many wind gusts of 100mph - even while home on holiday sometimes!

Same here, we often get gale-force winds...this is a small island and mainly rural,so many trees to down. But this was different.
However, I never usually praise the government, ever....but this time they really went all out to help the people of Ireland cope with this crisis. They gave us minute by minute updates.
I hope Scotland escapes the ferocity of Ophelia.

Yes, it sounds like this was a bad one for you. Glad to hear that you are OK, and that the government did a good job for you! The west coast of Scotland will likely be battered. My Dad says it has not reached the east coast yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60334.00
ETH 2571.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56