You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Old Dog Presents: Monochrome Master. The Great Edward S. Curtis

It's interesting to see a few photos taken by someone with genuine interest and care for the First peoples, rather than the usual exploitative photos or carnival-like tours they used to force on them. Maybe I'm just casting my own imagination on them, but these images look "real."

Thanks, and it's been a while, so hi too! (I needed a break.) Hope all is well and you have a happy and sweet new year with your family and friends :)

Sort:  

Wow, so great to "see" you. Yes he sure became dedicated to chronicling the native people and his work was complete when he travelled to the artic and photographed the eskimos who were still "untouched" by their eventual oppressors. He was elated to find happy smiling faces there!

Dang it! If you can see me, then I gotta get dressed when I sit here steeming with my (version of) cheetos!!


Smiling faces... I would absolutely love to hear what people from that time and context, and such disparate places, would make of our world today. Could you imagine that warrior looking fellow eating cheetos? Omg, I'm such a...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47