MonochromeMonday - Highland Cow - New Zealand

I could not resist posting the majestic appearance of this beautiful looking and very photogenic beast from New Zealand.

IMG-20160102-WA0000 (2).jpg

These gentle, intelligent and good-natured animals originated in the Highlands and West Coastal Islands of Scotland. They are tough animals, are a low maintenance breed, ideal for hills and moors and can survive harsh environments due to their double coat of hair (a downy undercoat and all-oiled outer coat which can shed rain and snow).

They are mostly kept for their meat as it is of high quality with a fine texture, excellent flavour and low in fat and cholesterol. Their milk is high in butterfat, ideal for butter and cheese.

IMG-20160102-WA0000.jpg

We do not have beauties like these in my country (which is maybe a good thing because I will never get it over my heart to eat one)and I absolutely fell in love with this animal.

The original photo was taken in colour on a farm in New Zealand with a Canon Coolpix in 2015.

Keep smiling, reading, writing and voting!!

Sort:  

Great post. Thanks

Thank you jrlo.

I know you said they are quite gentle but it really look like one serious cow needing a hair cut.

Hello ace108, I followed your advice, thank you so much. He is really a gentle giant.

You're welcome

The highland cow is deff photogenic haha

Hey, I think he is a cutie. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

This is not a natural animals that meat 🍖

Thank you director, agree 100%. We just need to take the time to appreciate it.

The color is so striking! Nice shot! :)

Thank you droidsid. Love what nature offers me.

Thank you insideeesteem, I fell in love with this animal.

Great looking animal and nature has provided him with many necessities such as the double coat of hair for warmth in the colder months and the oily overcoat that sheds water. Does this animal provide milk for humans?

Thank you team101. Yes, they do and have quite a high fat content which is excellent for butter and cheese.

Joker Likes Your Photography!!
@imjoker

Thank you very much, imjoker.

Hi there, your description makes me both hungry and thirsty! I recently posted up a B+W picture of some Icelandic horses that you might like. Please have a look through my blog if you like photography.

I will go check them out, thank you markangeltrueman. Hope you have something scrumptious to eat topping it off with a fresh glass of creamy milk.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62151.48
ETH 2421.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57