monochrome monday — vintage vs antique

in #monochromemonday6 years ago (edited)

History with its flickering lamp
stumbles along the trail of the past,
trying to reconstruct its scenes,
to revive its echoes,
and kindle with pale gleams the passion of former days.
Winston Churchill



The decor in my home is fairly eclectic. I have collections of random things from clocks, books, rocks, to old tins and oil lamps. I'm not entirely sure if they are antique. I've recently learned that the standard is 100 years old, not the 50 that some "dealers" try to enforce. (Thank you @outrayjust for that information!!)

Whatever age they are doesn't matter to me. I like them because they are from another era and they have a ton of character.

I suppose they are vintage. I'm vintage too (in age) so I fit in well. They have a lot of stories to tell, so do I. We have a lot in common.

My fireplace mantle is new "ish" as our house is about 18 years old. I keep my decor casual and interesting. Although I long for a simple and clean look, I am very attached to more clutter than many might like.

On my mantle, a salvaged lead glass window leans against the wall and provides an interesting backdrop for some of my collectibles. Two glass "vintage" oil lamps, mercury glass jars, old tins that once contained cleaning powder, baking powder, bovril and mints.






photos by
signature.png
Nikon D3100
Nikkor Lens 55mm f/1.8
Adobe Lightroom

©All rights reserved, 2018



Thank you @old-guy-photos
for initiating the #monochromemonday photo challenge.


Sort:  

I hear vintage is in vogue now, or maybe that is what I say to justify my vintage stuff. Huh, no uranium glass collection? Oh some of those of clocks have radium dials. Got any of those?

I might have some of those clocks...I'll have to ask the Mr. We have so many clocks it's coo coo.....

The dials glow in the dark because they painted radium paint on them. It is very sad, the poor ladies used to use their lips to get a fine point on the brushes.
This is the wiki on it. Quite interesting.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radium_Girls

Oh yes....I recall that story!!! Terrible!!!! Gee...I used to lick my pencil when I was a kid for some reason. I wonder how long lead takes to get out of my system?????

I don't think I have radium dials now that you've explained it. If I did, I'd throw them out or take them to bio disposal place. Yikes.

From what I have seen on Steemit, your home seems to be a very interesting place! By the way, I haven't seen oil lamps in ages! :) Do you ever light them?

Yes, we lit them when we first got them.....big mistake. The black smoke was not pleasant. So now they are "art". :)

Well ... I'm pushing vintage then. I like the word vintage better than antique. Love looking around these kinds of shops. Love thinking on the stories they would tell if they could talk, Great bric a brac shots:) I like that word too, bric a brac:)

me too!! and it's the phrase I was looking for this morning....my brain would not give it up for anything!! Bric a Brac!!! hehe....Love it.

WOW. I liked the way he used the details of his home. Black and white works very well in macro and detail photography!
I love you my dear friend. congratulations

I'm glad you like my home.....my fireplace mantle is a good place for this collection. Thanks for enjoying the photography too. ;)

That last one is great, so focussed that it's almost timeless - could be in a store, on a shelf, in a museum... at the point of its creation or years in the future. You have a wonderful eye!

That's very kind of you @lazarus-wist. The beauty of antiques :)

I have the same oil lamps!! They're sitting on the credenza just inside my front door. I love "vintage" items. The Winston Churchill quote you included says it all "...kindle with pale gleams the passion of former days" so perfect! These were items from my mom, I think of her when I see them. Who knows who had them before her. Something to think about, I love it

That's so great that you have the same lanterns. I love them too. I don't think mine are original though because I can see a seam where the glass has joined. But they are still old. And it doesn't matter to me anyhow...I just like the idea. :)

Great monochrome shots and excellent subject mater.. they work so well together!

Thank you so much....always appreciate your feedback.

You sound just like my wife! She's like a magpie, and she can spot an antiques/vintage shop in a split second, bloody loves them!

Of course!!! lol.....if you leave without it then you live in regret....I know exactly how she feels !!

I love the way you combine the macro and monochrome photography and explore a theme through your text and quotes. Everything looks silvered which interestingly adds to the patina of age as much as sepia. A beautiful moment...

It's like our hair!! monochrome....lol.

That is a fantastic photo! I have been told more than once that my decorating style is eclectic... I too, like clean and clutter free, but I have so many family heirlooms and treasures that I have picked up on my travels that I love, that things end up more than is necessary! But what can you do?!

What can we do is find another spot?? Make another vignette of our collections?? I doubt I could stay clutter free if I tried. You should see my basement....lol. Now that would make for an interesting series :)

I don't have a basement...That is my excuse when the kids tell me I have too much stuff. I keep thinking that if I take pictures of the thing that I will then have the picture and can get rid of the actual stuff, but that hasn't happened!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94