monochrome monday — pareidolia

pareidolia
/ˌpæraɪˈdəʊlɪə/
noun

the imagined perception of a pattern or meaning where it does not actually exist,
as in considering the moon to have human features
Collins English Dictionary

DSC_0118.jpg
ISO 200 | f/5.6 | 1/800s | 200mm

what did YOU see?




photo by
signature.png
Nikon D3100
Nikkor Lens 55mm-200mm
Adobe Lightroom

© 2018, © all rights reserved

Thank you @old-guy-photos
for initiating the #monochromemonday photo challenge.

If you are participating in this weekly challenge
remember to post a link in the comment section @old-guy-photos post.


Sort:  

Ruger .22 Mark II.
What do you think???
P1140555.JPG

When I first looked at the thumbnail, I thought for a moment that this is a gun :) Beautiful one, Deb!

Thanks Dan! I'll bet you wondered what I was doing with a gun....like I'd be the last person you'd expect would have one. You'd have been right. Not a fan. But the ice....:)

It could have been your husband's toy :P

hehe...he HATES guns.....we have gun control in Canada. Altho some still acquire them illegally - the gangs and other bad people. He worked in a very tough area - English teacher - and the school was so bad that the police wouldn't even come when there was a problem - the police station was just across the street. The school is in the most dangerous parts of Toronto. He had some close calls and bad things happen - like a brand new car beaten with baseball bats and knives. He survived his retirement. And now is on Steemit where there are no guns, only sharp words and sometimes flagging wars 😂

Omg, I would have never thought that such things happen in Canada... I remember watching one of Michael Moore's movies where he said that most Canadians own guns.

As for Steemit, I don't have a clue who's right and who's wrong in these flagging wars :)

Michael Moore said that? huh. I don't know anyone who owns a gun.

And the flagging wars...I usually don't read that stuff - it gives me bumble bees in my head.

ding ding ding!! We have a winner!

:)
I tried to get the angle about right :)

I should try to do an overlay and see what happens.....on my spare time of course. :)

We all have a lot of that :)

that is a beautiful ice sculpture thanks to Mother Nature - Next to Bill Murray's ice sculpture in Groundhog Day, I'd have to say this is my favourite piece of Ice art. As for seeing patterns in natural formations, I know there's an alien civilization on Mars - their buildings are just deigned to emulate natural features - Don't let anyone say otherwise, lol

uh huh......and you know this how? ??

What was the ice sculpture in Groundhog Day? I don't remember.

yeah, you do - ‎Andie MacDowell, lol

I looked it up - it's an angel I think. No, I seriously forgot. And it still doesn't look familiar.

What a wonderful abstraction. Love the tones and the fluidity.

I’m not a gun person. At all. It took the actual gun photo in the comments and Dan’s commentary for me to even see one. 😄 I saw an other-worldly topography.

Me too....I didn't see a gun until my husband said it looked like one. I only saw the tones inside the ice and the little bubbles and fluidity too.

Thanks @outrayjust :)

This particular issue of the moon having human features is a debate that has bring fight between i and my brother

This post has received a 2.03 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

You got a 1.00% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @johnjgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Nice picture. Human evolved to discern predators in the foliage. That's why we are so prone to see human-like faces on objects.

Interesting information. Thank you.

This post has received a 2.24 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @johnjgeddes

As much as hate them, I thought it was a handgun in the thumbnail. I love that it is a beautiful chunk of ice!

I hate guns too. It drives me crazy how many there are out there. Anyhow...yes, the ice does take on that appearance doesn't it? I captured a lot of ice today and this one was perfect for monocrhome.

Well, I think I see a gun, but no clue on what brand. :)

I know...a gun. tsk. I seriously thot it looked like arm bones - the elbow and ulna and radius.

But if you look at @old-guy-photos gun it would probably be a perfect match!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80