Monochrome Monday — my beloved mountainssteemCreated with Sketch.



I go to the mountains because they call my name. These are my beloved mountains, my beloved British Columbia.

Had my son not moved west, I most likely would not have had an opportunity to visit this part of Canada. I live in Southern Ontario and although we have beautiful lakes and forests and historical escarpments, there is nothing like the west coast mountains. Nothing.

I chose some of my Tantalus Range photos for the monochromatic challenge today. This range is part of the Coast Mountain in Canada and the Pacific Range in the United States.


misty tone on tone

monochrome monday.png



misty monochromatic
Screen Shot 2017-10-23 at 10.20.49 AM.png


low brooding stratus cloud
Screen Shot 2017-10-23 at 10.11.07 AM.png


creeping snow line warns winter is approaching
Screen Shot 2017-10-23 at 10.44.06 AM.png




photos by
signature.png
Nikon D3100
Processed in Lightroom



Screen Shot 2017-10-23 at 11.02.33 AM.png
source


Thanks to @old-guy-photos
for initiating #monochromemonday photo challenge.




Sort:  

that first photo with the pines in sharp relief against the misty rolling hills was beautiful and the rest of the shoot was haunting

Yes, the first one is my favorite too...thanks!

The views were nice and the taking was perfect

Thank you so much. :)

This post has received a 4.62 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

wow! great pics!
looks amazing... :)

I'm glad you like them...thanks for saying so :)

There is such a sense of mystery to all these shots. The first one is my favorite with the row of pines, and then the seemingly endless rows of mountains in the mist! I have never visited BC, but would love to some day. We are hoping to take a cruise to Alaska next year, so may start out from Canada rather than from the US.

The first one is my favorite too - it's how I remember BC in the winter....sigh. I miss it. Very much. An Alaska cruise? Oh....I heard those are beautiful!!! If you can, visit BC and drive up to Whistler - it's about 1.5 hours from Vancouver....the mountains are amazing along the Sea to Sky Highway.

Thanks for your comments @dmcamera!

You are welcome, and thanks for that travel tip.

Oh I love those pines! They are exactly just like how Bob Ross used to paint them. Thanks so much for sharing to #MonochromeMonday

Bob Ross??? lol....I used to watch him all the time. He had the creepiest voice, I thought but was such a good teacher.

Oh I love those pines! They are exactly just like how Bob Ross used to paint them. Thanks so much for sharing to #MonochromeMonday

I love getting double messages. I just left a trail of them all over Steemit .....l0l

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Oct 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $26.91 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 23 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I'm lucky to live in the Blue Ridge Mountains. Just something about being in the mountains completes me. These are lovely photos! :)

Thank you @tinajordan. There is something calming about the mountains, I totally understand what you mean about completeness. My son gave me a sign to hang in my guest room - The mountains are calling and I must go.

Thanks for commenting !

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75