monochrome monday — ice, shadows, m&ms

pictures must not be too picturesque
Ralph Waldo Emerson

black and white ice.jpg
a click of the shutter,
a crank of the film,
and you've caught forever a significant bit of life
Willis Peterson

DSC_0044.jpg

the camera can photograph thought
Dirk Bogarde

tree shadows.jpg
you don't need a camera all the time —
the soul, the heart, the eyes, and spirit
and all your other senses
capture moments beautifully too
Terri Guillemets




photos by
signature.png
Nikon D3100
Nikkor Lens 18-55mm | 55mm-200mm | 50mm
Adobe Lightroom

© 2018, © all rights reserved



Thank you @old-guy-photos
for initiating the #monochromemonday photo challenge.


Sort:  

The M&M shot is way cool! So much visual opulence going on in there.

Visual opulence....I like the way that sounds. :) Thank you.

beautiful monochrome shots - love the Emerson quote - nothing more predictable than travelogue photos - but macro photography can be a refreshing glimpse of familiar things from an unfamiliar perspective

Yes, that is true about seeing things up close. Thank you.

Great photos! ⭐

Thank you for the gold star Mel. :) I haven't received one of those in ages!

You deserve at least one star every day, my friend. Those are prize winning photos!

You're so sweet, thank you. Words like that are heartfelt.

This post has received a 3.86 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @johnjgeddes

Thanks for sharing ,,, i like ur photo for shadow and ice ,, but I love eat m & ms 😉😄👍
Good luck my dear friend @countrygirl

Yes m&m's....you can't just eat one that's for sure.

Great captures, the first one looks like it could also be molten silver!!!

I followed Terri Guillemets' advice this afternoon on the ride home. We had a spectacular sunset here in Central New Jersey, and I just admired it on the drive home from work - no photo stops!!!

That's nice isn't it? I like to just enjoy the drive too. I haven't seen a great sunset yet. We've had pretty ones but nothing spectacular yet.

That ice does look like molten silver, you're right!! It was hanging from the satellite dish on the side of the house. You never know where you'll find a good shot.

Thanks so much @cognoscere.

What exactly is that second photo? It looks interesting with all the swirly stuff at the top. Are those buttons?

The first photo is my favorite, though. Very crisp, and with that nice blurry background. Very nicely taken!

It's a tray of some sort and I think it had some of my grandson's toy cars upside down....and blue white and yellow m&ms. I can't remember now. But the swirls are sort of antique wrought iron sides to the tray. A definite mish mash of kid stuff in it....he was forever turning things upside down and making new uses out of anything he could find in my living room.

Yes, I like the ice too. I was happy with that one. Thank you.

Always lovely shots!

Yes I love those quotes. To me a camera has always been a special. It is like a time machine in a way. It captures a tiny slice of time that can never really be duplicated again...

Oh I love that - a time machine!! I'll have to tell @johnjgeddes so he can write a poem or story about it. He love time travel. Good one!

the top two.... oohhhh!!! i can't choose a favorite! :)

the icicles are so beautiful!!! ( i LOVE icicles! and they always make my mouth water heheheheh i want to eat them!)

but the m&ms.... i love the filter - i love the detail - i love the scrolly embellishments in the upper corner - i even love the scratches on the dark m&m!!!!! beautiful!!!!

So did you like the photos? lol.....thank you so much for your great comment. The m&m had been kind of put in a little one's mouth and put back in with the rest....hence the "scratches" ..... :)

hahahahahahahaha - well i hope the little one got to eat it!!! :) (and hope that no one else ate them! LOL)

i loved the photos! when you said that you scared me into thinking i forgot to upvote LOLOLOL

I had to re read your comment a bunch of times to understand what you meant by the last line. And then I read my comment .... lol.....so funny how things can be misunderstood on here. So funny.

hahahahahaha well... after i saw that i did upvote.... then i read YOUR comment again and laughed ;)

only took me a moment hehehe

nice photos ! Keep it up !

Thank you @weberh8! Glad you liked them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23