You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 30 Weird but Effective Ways to Save Money

in #moneysaving7 years ago

WOW! This is awesome. Some things we do already, while you actually blew me away with other remedies. The toilet paper trick """"I HAVE TO TRY"""! My daughter sometimes forgets to flush and I walk up to be greeted with a half roll of TP just from her taking a #1. I get so mad.

As a kid growing up in Cajun land, my mothers used to use EVERYTHING in the kitchen for another meal. If we had baked chicken for diner, whatever was left was picked off the bone and then she would boil the rest to get the other meat for Gumbo. I could go on and on about what all she and my grandmother did to not waste a ounce of food.

Great write up! Do you do any special way of shopping for groceries? Maybe a way to get meals for a whole month and ways to "NOT" walk out with a buggy full of junk you should not have? Any tips? Greatly Appreciate if you did. :)

Sort:  

I am actually working on an article about menu planning. I think that is the best way to save on your groceries. If you plan ahead and know what you will be cooking for a time period it helps to control those impulse purchases. Also, meal rotation is great for saving money. Have a few meals that you family likes and serve those weekly or bi-weekly. Helps control the budget as well as the time in the kitchen. Not sure if you have Aldi in Louisiana, but over here in Georgia Aldi's is the lowest grocery prices on staples like meat, milk, and eggs. Hope that helps. BTW, my brother in law is Cajun and he makes some fantastic Gumbo.

Well you have one AWESOME brother in law! lol

hqdefault.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71138.51
ETH 3842.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48