You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Myths Of Our Economy: There Is An Invisible Hand Above The Market

in #money6 years ago

Thanks for your response; I truly appreciate this. And I do trust you on your word when you say you have no fear. I don't either ;-)

We will not convince each other, at least not here and now ;-) I experience true democracy every day, it's a three person democracy mostly and it's called "my family". The way I see life in large communities (and there simply is no other way than living in a community) is the same as in this small community. Democracy is wrongfully understood as some political technique or system: it's a cultural thing and it starts in the family. We discuss and we decide together. There's just no other way about it.

Talking about capitalism as a separate entity may confuse you. Let me say this: how often have you heard or read in the news something like "That was a good proposal from X or Y, but it will regrettably not pass because the markets won't like it" or, "X or Y proposal could be beneficial for .... but the Dow Jones would object". Not a separate entity? Not placed above any political decision-making? I see that differently, I'm afraid. And that's not victim-hood nor accusing anyone of being guilty of whatever perceived conspiracy: it's just the facts of any economic model that's based on personal gains only.

At least, that's how I see it after having 40 odd years to think about it, seeing the plutocracy gain power, living poor, living rich and having experience with two obscenely rich persons, one of them being family, the other one of my best friends. I don't blame them for anything. I don't blame the billionaires for anything: they weren't born the sociopaths they have become after a life long under iron capitalist rule.

We won't agree on these points, but that's okay in my book: these conversations I like most because there actually is something to discuss :-) Thank you so much again; I truly do admire the way you talk about these things without "losing your cool". It's always kinda tricky to discuss politics or religion online as so many people seem to to feel attacked personally way too easy when discussing these broad subjects. And I'm sure we will pick this up again sometime in the future. I'm proud to have been given the chance to get to know you, @omitaylor; you're a beautiful person and a great discussion-partner! :-)

Sort:  

Yes yes indeed. And of course we won't likely agree because we're both rebellious. Cheers. HAHA