Shooting for the Moon: My Wild Ride on Steemit

in #money8 years ago (edited)

I'm in shock how this platform has experienced such enormous growth in such a short amount of time! 

How I found Steemit

When I came on the Steemit platform a few days ago (July 9th), I didn't know what to make of it. I was sitting at home on a Saturday researching cryptocurrencies and doing some superficial analysis of current cryptocurrencies. I've been using Bitcoins since the $7/coin days, so I had a solid understanding of what I was seeing. I wasn't sure what my goal was at the time though; I'm sure subconsciously, as always, my brain turned to thinking of ways of generating wealth. After all, I've been obsessing with the idea of quitting my day job for good and have financial independence. As I stared in awe at all the different currency options that have bloomed, I stumbled upon STEEM which stood out from the rest of the currencies. Both in the way rewards were earned, and in how the entire economic system was built. Seeing that it was also an entertaining social platform, I saw Steemit as the right place to throw some play money at. So on that Saturday of July 9th I threw down $78 worth of bitcoins in exchange for 123 STEEM and headed to the market.  My goal was to make 20% with the money by day-trading. I figured it would give me experience and insight into how Steem operated, as well as experience trading since I'm a complete n00b.

Expanding to the Moon

The market was very volatile but prices could be predicted fairly easily, and within a short amount of time I had turned my $78USD into ~$120USD. The price per STEEM on Sunday July 10th went as low as $0.50. I went to bed pretty happy with myself coming onto a new platform and market and performing this well for a n00b. I even lost some sleep thinking about strategies for investing to maintain the 20% increases I was looking for. But when I woke up Monday, the prices started flying way higher than I had seen them or projected them to. 

Since then I've had my hands on my head just seeing this immense climb that STEEM is making. It's climbed so fast that it has actually concerned me and I've pulled out my $120 in winnings - a 158% increase on my original investment. I've kept my original investment of the equivalent of $78USD, but at this point this thing is climbing so fast I'm afraid of the fall, so I had to cash my little bit of play money out. If I didn't know any better, I'd say someone is pumping the market to dump it. However, what I've learned during my short time here is that Steemit is such an incredibly revolutionary platform, and so much awesome content is already being shared, that nothing can stop this momentum any time soon.

Thank everyone of you for investing in this platform!

I'm pumped that people are rewarded for sharing content; that's how it should be. Above all, I'm excited that Steemit has re-inspired me with ideas of applications that could be developed from this platfrom, and other ideas with the use of cryptocurrencies. I feel like a little kid again watching all of this happen. Those that are now just getting onto this platform have a lot to look forward to, and I'm sure years from now we'll be reminiscing on the days the platform was in its infancy.

I look forward to seeing all of the awesome content you guys have to share with us. While I may post in the future, I'm more of a lurker. Meaning I'll mostly be curating content.

See ya guize in space. Oh yeah, and call me MARK! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61599.36
ETH 3407.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47