Minnow Mining Crypto Week #2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #money8 years ago

My computer made $4.20 or 0.0065321 BTC this week. In 2 weeks, it has made a total of $6.97.




I upgraded my stock 350w power supply this week to an EVGA 430. It was an excruciatingly miserable experience and I almost had a nervous breakdown. Look at this mess. Just look at it.


◉_◉


I started mining with my CPU again as the GPU DaggerHashimoto algorithm payouts have gone down a little bit. The CPU CryptoNight algorithm pays surprisingly well considering the hash rate.



Minnow Mining Crypto Week #1



Image Credit

@wilmaballsdrop

( ⚆ _ ⚆ )

Sort:  

You made me laugh and I understood what you have written...haha

Please make me laugh again, I serve you some homemade wine ;-)

Hey @wilmaballsdrop! I'm creating a slideshow on mining for bitcoin. Mind if I ask you a few questions? The slides will be shared among all members in the Block Chain Education slack group. Give it a visit when you have a chance!

What is your overall experience with mining? What advice do you have to give to others interested in mining bitcoin? What precautions should beginners perform? What was the initial investment cost when you first started mining? Current ROI? Lastly, why do you mine? You can DM me if you'd prefer.

Hey @pernbchain247

What is your overall experience with mining?

I just started recently. Maybe a month or so I still have a lot to learn. I've had a passive interest in bitcoin for a few years though.

What advice do you have to give to others interested in mining bitcoin?

Well I certainly wouldn't start out mining bitcoin which I think involves a massive investment in hardware. I would tell people to mine altcoins or more specifically mine with a user-friendly mining program like NiceHash which is what I'm using now or alternatively MinerGate. There may be others I'm not aware of. NiceHash pays out in bitcoin no matter which coin you are actually mining.

What precautions should beginners perform?

Start small and read up on forums. Research what the best mining GPU cards are and go from there. There are several mining profitability calculators available online.

What was the initial investment cost when you first started mining?

Well I already had the computer so with the new video card and couple other upgrades, about $250. Had I done a little more research I would have spent a little more and got a better video card.

Current ROI?

I plan on getting another rig up and running and factoring in that extra investment I'm guessing 18 months.

Lastly, why do you mine?

It's more of a hobby than anything. I'm obviously not going to get rich but I'm learning a lot about cryptocurrencies and blockchain tech. The entire industry is extremely fascinating to me. Exciting times!

This is great! Thank you for your input. I'll be sure to reference you and your story as a source.

I've got to keep watching your blog, I'm doing something very similar myself.

Keep up the good work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67160.08
ETH 3517.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70