Does it make sense to include gold and silver in my investment portfolio?

in #money7 years ago

Does it make sense to include silver and gold in my investment portfolio?
This is a great question that most people do not ask enough. Cryptocurrencies have been rising rapidly and while the rise has been incredible, does it make sense to invest in physical gold and silver? In my opinion the answer is absolutely! Would I or any professional investment advisor ever tell you to go “all in”? No. It always depends on your risk tolerance, your understanding of the precious metal market and the reason why you hold precious metals. The way I think about holding both gold and silver is like having insurance, except you can actually hold the metal in your possession unlike other investments. Precious metals serve as insurance against a global financial crisis and economic downturn as they are real assets and will always have value. My recommendation and other precious metal advocates is to hold at least 5-10% of precious metals in your portfolio in physical form, I like 1oz bullion coins. What are bullion coins? Coins that are .999 silver content, they are issued by government and other mints around the world.

Here are some examples of 1 oz bullion coins (real money), American Eagle, Canadian Maple Leaf, Mexican Libertad, Philharmonic, Chinese Panda, Perth Mint Tiger, Australian Kangaroo, Silver Shield round, SS Freedom Girl round, SS Bull round, SS Abundance proof round, Silver Nike round & Gold American Eagle

FullSizeRender.jpg

Where can I purchase coins? I've used many online dealers as well as local coin shops. Here are some that I've had great experiences with and continue to use.

www.sdbullion.com
www.goldenstatemint.com
www.apmex.com

What are some of your favorite coins? I hope this helps some of you who are interested in protecting your portfolio by adding some precious metals to it. Comment below.

Sort:  

No. For me it doesn't even make sense to include Fiat stocks. Crypto is the future.

Thanks for your thoughts! Some want to put all there money in crypto and I understand why. I'm learning more and more in the crypto space by being on steemit. All the best to you!

I like getting different coins each time. I like looking at them and like the feel of real silver.

Hi gem777, yes I like getting different coins as well. The feel and sound of real silver is nice, plus its something you can hold. What's your favorite coin?

It's hard to pick just one, I like the 1 oz Canadian maple. I see new ones and would like to get some but not working now so in tightwad mode.

So many great designs out there. The maple leaf is a nice pick!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61839.57
ETH 3411.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52