The Cashier who can't count change

in #money7 years ago

The other day I was at Wal-mart and there was a lady in line in front of me and my husband at the check out line. I used to be a cashier and was trained to count money. I happened to notice the cashier struggling as she was counting the change. At first, I just thought well she might have just zoned out on a thought or had a tough day and was tired but she continued to struggle with trying to figure out how much change to count out. And then I thought well maybe it's one of the more difficult mixture's of change like $0.84 or something. All the while the lady who bought the stuff doesn't notice the cashier is struggling because she is too busy getting her stuff in the cart. Then I looked at the change that the lady was due and it was something really easy like $0.55 or $0.52 or something. A couple of quarters and a couple of pennies or something. That's pretty easy. Then I realized, she doesn't know how to count change, only dollars. How did she get a job being a cashier and not knowing how to count change? Finally she grabbed some change and gave it to the lady and I hoped that she finally snapped to it and was able to figure it out. And I realized that we were next and were paying with cash. As soon as my husband got the money back. I asked for it. I counted it and sure enough, it wasn't right. I stood there until she gave us the correct change. But you know this generation hasn't used change like I did growing up. They use cards a lot of the time. So, watch out. I may have only been shorted a quarter but with as many customers as Wal-mart gets, those quarters add up, and plus, it was my quarter. It's okay to call someone out when they mess up. :D

Sort:  

I can't tell you how many times I told the walmart cashier I was getting water from the water purifier machine, which costs about 28 cents, not a regular gallon of water, which costs a dollar. They just look at me with a blank stare until i say screw it just let me get out of here. Those walmart cashier ain't the sharpest in the tool box.

That was so funny! Thanks for the laugh. I would think they would test these ppl's counting skills or something. I did actually have a different one who made sure she counted my daughter's money back to her correctly. That was redeeming. 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58102.40
ETH 3065.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26