[LIFE BLOG # 001] WHY I CHOSE TO STEEM OVER A NEW IPHONE!

in #money7 years ago (edited)

steemiit.jpg

In this post I will try to deviate from my common topics regarding comics, toys and photography. And for consistency, should I find myself having these kinds of thought again, I'll call posts like these as "LIFE BLOGS".

To start off, I was inspired to write this one when I caught myself looking at various smartphone models in hopes of replacing my 2-year old phone.

I own an ancient artifact called the iPhone 5s. I got it as a free phone from my network provider, and that contract will end this December.

DECEMBER! Sounds like I should get a Christmas gift for myself right?

Since my provider will no longer send me an iPhone (since this deal was just a special offer 2 years ago), I’ll end up with an entry level smartphone that is not really doing smart things; a new phone that new and updated seems like a great gift for myself.

BUT…

BUT…

BUT…

When I checked on the current phones and their prices, something dawned upon me.

If I’ll spend 40,000php (roughly $790) on a single device (that doesn’t do anything aside from making me cool, feed my ego and raise my social status image), why not spend the money on something that will actually generate me more money?

So from that thought, I came with 3 possible alternatives that I can buy instead of a smartphone, which will soon get myself richer and financially stable. (and soon have the chance to really spend my dough on high-end smartphones HAHA)

1. Get yourself a better laptop/desktop and join STEEMIT!

For the same amount of money, you can at least get a decent laptop that will open doors to more money making opportunities. With the decent specs, you can start learning graphic designing, video editing and animation.

An on the go device would also pave way to your Digital Nomad journey. You can start writing articles to earn some bucks, or even start a Steemit account!

2. Start a food franchise

For 40,000php, you can acquire small-time food stalls. You can never go wrong with a food business. People will always be hungry, and if your service is something that will feed their mouths, one way or another they'll end up eating at one of your food stalls.

3. Start an online shop

Using that smartphone funds as a capital for you can start an online shop. E-commerce platforms like ebay, lazada and shoppee can be a tool to start one. Even social media sites such as instagram and facebook can be used to establish your online store’s presence.

Personally I love collecting toys, and now I am doing a feasibility study on how to start a gundam shop. For as low as 5,000php I can start a buy-and-sell of gunplay kits, and compete on the high prices that are seen on malls.


In the end, it is your money! You’ve earned it and you have the right to enjoy it! But if you want to be a little bit wiser, and can control your urges for instant gratification. Then start with these small steps!

If you’ve learned something today, please do leave a comment and upvote this post! :D

Thanks!


FOR MORE CONTENT, DON'T FORGET TO FOLLOW ME!

Sort:  

Congratulations @thepeculiargeek! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day
Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57