You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Many Americans are often overpaying for insurance (probably)

in #money7 years ago

I wonder how many people actually shop around - I know I didn't until I was in my mid 20's and had been driving for over a decade. I stayed with the company my parents had, and they'd been with the same company for decades before that. I think insurance, especially if you haven't really had to use it much, is very much a "legacy brand" - if it's what your parents had, it's probably what you'll have.

I'm with Geico now and love it, but before I switched I tried to maximize my discounts - paying for 6 months at a time instead of every month is a huge one, and in general trying to be a cautious and aware driver.

Also sometimes bundles can be more expensive - you might save money by bundling your car and renters insurance with one company, but they might charge twice as much for renters as a different company, so you're actually paying more than if you shopped around/had separate policies.

Sort:  

All good points. Someone recommended my previous company to me and I used them for 20 years. Like many I bought coverage through an agent who ultimately does almost nothing. Eventually after much promoting when Farmer's costs got crazy high due to a couple of claims (which in 20 years isn't bad) they suggested another company. As soon as our last claim is off the record I'll be ditching the agent and going direct to a company like GEICO.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53921.46
ETH 2250.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30