Who doesn’t have electricity?

in #money6 years ago

The Green New Deal Resolution calls for the government, over the next ten years, to upgrade “all existing buildings in the United States and building new buildings to achieve maximum energy efficiency, water efficiency, safety, affordability, comfort, and durability, including through electrification.” As I read that, I wondered out loud, “What do they mean by ‘electrification?’” Then it hit me: America must have a problem with homes and offices lacking electricity. Millions of people must be using whale oil lamps to find their way to the bathroom at 2AM. My ignorance of the problem and its scope led me to do a little research. What I discovered is that according to data published by The World Bank and the International Energy Agency (so it must be correct), as of 2016, 100% of U.S. residents have access to electricity. Apparently, every home in America is already “electrified.” Who knew? In her zeal for the government to make everybody’s life as carefree and painless as possible, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez’s Green New Deal offers a solution for which there is no problem. Now I wonder, “Does she have any idea at all what she’s talking about?”
AOC v day.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60661.72
ETH 2395.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56