How to deal with family members or friends asking for money

in #money7 years ago

This is not a how to.... I am asking for advice.

IMG_0149.JPG

I have had a few requests over the past couple months of friends and family that have hit hard times and need some help. I am known in my circle of influence to be comfortable ( I'm not rich. My wife and I both work full time). I am quite sympathetic to my blood and those who served in the military with me and understand that times are hard and I've gotten help in the past.

I just had a long chat with my brother, who for lack of better words, is financially illiterate. He has made a lifetime of bad decisions and I have been there to help, most of the time. Other times I have let him deal with his mistakes on his own. Anyhow, he calls me today for the first time in almost a year and we begin chatting with mutual enjoyment. Then he drops the bomb: "I was hoping you could help me out ".

I haven't heard him say those words in quite some time but he sounded very sincere. He has been working hard lately and trying super hard to make ends meet but life keeps throwing curveballs at him. For the first time ever.... I cannot help my baby brother. I have zero liquid cash on hand until next week and he needs rent money by Friday.

IMG_0150.JPG

This is the first time in my life that I have not been able to take care of my lil bro. Help me Steemians....

Sort:  

That's rough man. I wish I could give you some kind of advice because I know it's really hard to not be able to help family...

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57941.45
ETH 2579.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39