You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can Someone Be So Wealthy it Becomes Obnoxious? Absolutely

in #money8 years ago

"To me knowing how to work the land is a wealth of knowledge that is far more important than how many bathrooms your butler cleans."

Yes! This. This puts it very well.

I know some people who have enough money to be considered rich, but maybe on the lower end of rich. I've never actually met, or even heard of, anyone who lives with households run like businesses and with dozens of domestics working for them. That's why I was so surprised when I started reading those EstateJobs.com listings. Honestly, I didn't even think most celebrities lived that way. I was surprised at just how many job listings there were there, which means it's not as uncommon of a lifestyle as I imagined.

I don't want to judge anyone for how they spend their money, as I said in the post. But, my main concern is, are they good people? Or, do they lack empathy for others and are selfish? Do they think their money makes them better than other people? The tone of some of the ads on that site suggests this is true, so it made me question just who these people are, what they're like, and gave me the idea for this post.

Sort:  

I don't waste too much time thinking too much about them. I think they do lack empathy and mostly have their strings pulled by animal instincts so it's best to avoid them.

It's common among the banking, political and corporate board member crowd, so selfishness and a lack of empathy shouldn't be too surprising.

Best of luck whatever you end up doing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60830.20
ETH 2393.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63