You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🌟DEAR STEEM DIARY - FAST FASHION and CONSCIENTIOUS SPENDING 🌟

in #money5 years ago (edited)

YES! Love this article. By the way, we also use that expression: https://onzetaal.nl/taaladvies/goedkoop-is-duurkoop/


Few things I do to buy more consciously without breaking the bank:

  • Save quality items I want to have, often based on fabric (wool, linen, silk, expensive stuff that lasts long) in a wishlist and buying when they're on sale. Sometimes the items are sold out before the sale, but every season I can get a few quality items for 'cheaper' than if I would have bought immediately.
  • This strategy also helps prevent impulse buys: put stuff on the wishlist and check if you still want them in 2 months (like you still wanted your shoes...)
  • Buy vintage! Bought an amazing wool and leather coat two winters ago and I get compliments from everyone! Bought 80$ for it while something with these materials and quality and design would cost me 300$ at least if bought new
  • Paint clothes! A few years ago I decided to go with some colour advise and buy only black/white or earth toned clothing. That also meant some clothes didn't fit my wardrobe anymore. But then I painted a few good items and they feel as new and fit my 'new' wardrobe immediately :D

Anyway, as said, great article, I'm hoping more and more people will buy consciously :-)

Sort:  

oh wow, these are great tips! I should actually have included them - I think I will, if you don't mind.

I do actually abide by all of those rules - especially the sales - I am a SALES WHORE! and vintage is my thang too - you know that 😅

You paint your clothes? Do you mean dye? By default - I mainly wear black. It stems from being an ex gothy punk rocker, and now it's just easier, black always matches black. xx

Thank you for your fantastiese comment - you always have the best and most thoughtful things to say 💜

Ah yes, see?! You said I spoke perfect English once but here's proof you were wrong :P It's dye indeed :-)

I can buy these packages with cotton dye, put them in the washing machine with some salt, and add one or two items of clothing depending on how saturated I want them to be :-) After that I just wash the painted clothes to get the dye to settle even more, and after that one more wash to clean the washing machine ;-) I love black too and wear it a lot (outfit of today: black paints, black and white polka dot shirt :D), but earth tones are my other love ;-)

And you're fantastisch yourself! :D

hehe well near perfect English - I think that was the first time I didn't know what you meant!

I have always wanted to dye things, but we don't have a washing machine, and even though Mork is Goth inside, I don't think he would like a black bath 😆

We've had a purple bath from the toner I put in my hair to keep it blonde, and I think it might be the actual bane of his existence 😂

Hahahaha - awesome, a black bath sounds epic.

There's two varieties of the paint: one for the washing machine and one for just putting in a bucket and soak it for 2 hours :-)

I'm gonna try it. I have this pair of canvas shoes that are faded. I can dye them. Woop Woop Dark Bath time.

(i'll use a bucket)

Just remember: all natural fibers will ‘take’ but of there’s for examply polyester stitches they won’t take the colour. Can work out great or not so great :D I guess in shoes they would use polyester stitching, that’s why I’m saying :-)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47