You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How A Peanut Butter Sandwich Saves Me 2.5 Workdays Every Year

in #money6 years ago

In principal, I agree with most of these thoughts. I tend to be quite frugal myself.

But, I aim for larger lifestyle changes that let me keep smaller luxuries because they save me so much. For example, I hunted for a career that I could always do from home so that way I could save on commute time, work wardrobe, food, and overall stress.

I spend on wellness (yoga, healthy food, vitamins) in the hopes that I won't have to spend money on expensive medicines in the future.

I cook nearly all of my meals as opposed to eating out. That way my husband and I can take small trips every once in awhile.

I live in an inexpensive area and drive an old car. That lets me buy things like musical instruments (I have two, violin and mandolin), cultural outings, and other leisure activities.

I care less about the small calculations, and more about what adds up to bigger picture happiness and fulfillment.

Sort:  

Yes, you get it and you see the power of the small things over time.

In health you mention you do yoga to lessen your ill health - that is you doing good actions over time to add up to a very healthy body. There are people that do the opposite, small junk food or inaction for long periods of time add up in the negative.

So this principle works both ways.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60