You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Protectionist Trump Policies To Crash Dollar, Gold and Bitcoin to Soar

in #money8 years ago

Flagged as autoreposted non-original content that is also heavily autovoted and does not drive engagement, participation, or distribution of rewards.

Sort:  

Actually it does, because he also ADVERTISES steemit on these posts external to steemit. This can be good publicity for Steemit, or he could go negative and it'd be negative publicity. Negative publicity is cheap and tends to give the most bang for the buck. So far he has kept it positive. I received a copy of this from his news letter I received in email which I subscribed to so I could see if he keeps posting on Steemit as well as other places. Not only does he continue to do so, but he advertises Steemit outside of steemit.

If he wants to advertise Steemit, good for him, I'd rather seem him pitch that as a campaign rather than just milk rewards for autoreposts. The latter is spitting directly in the face of people who work hard to create original content here or otherwise directly participate here. It also encourages more and more of these autoreposts and autovote schemes using paid services including by people who will not be advertising Steemit. It is not something I support.

BTW, I think the claim in the post is actually false and deceptive as well. "Jeff also posts exclusive content daily to the new blockchain social media network, Steemit". Well, where is this exclusive daily content? I only see the same content as from his own blog website. He doesn't even post comments here any more, which could arguably (though a stretch) be considered exclusive "content".

If we start getting actual celebrities do you think they will do different than him? Are you going to down vote them for this opinion as well so they might turn around (depending upon how reasonable they are) and trash steemit to all those who follow them?

We are likely to end up with some asshole celebrities if steemit does well. That doesn't mean they will lack followers.

There is a difference between NOT SUPPORTING (i.e. not voting on it) and ATTACKING (actively voting against it). I don't support a lot of things as well. I read them, I don't vote on them. Some things like sports I don't even tend to read. I'd like steemit a lot more without sports related posts. Yet that is just me. I am interested in seeing steemit succeed, if I were powerful enough to make much of a dent then down voting sports would not be helping steemit.

I do know you and I have discussed this before, but that doesn't mean I won't occasionally try to see if I can change your mind. ;)

If we start getting actual celebrities do you think they will do different than him?

Some will some won't. The ones milking rewards I won't support. Celebrities who just want exposure without actually participating here can easily decline rewards.

There are other celebrities here such as Neil Strauss or Charlie Shrem who actively participate and contribute. I do support them.

There is a difference between NOT SUPPORTING (i.e. not voting on it) and ATTACKING (actively voting against it).

Downvoting one post is the same as upvoting every other post. I'd rather see the large number of actual participants and minnows each rewarded a tiny bit more than one person using an autopost/autovote system.

I will have more to say on this latter point soon, but it won't be specific to TDV.

@full-steem-ahead I couldn't reply because of nesting depth, but hopefully you will see this:

Also, doesn't down-voting negatively affect a user's rep score?

Only when the downvote pushes the post value negative (which will show, and pay, as zero), and even then only when the person making the downvote has a higher rep score than the author (not the case here). When downvoting to reduce a payout (but the payout remains above zero), assuming your rep score is higher than the author's, the effect is to reduce the degree that rep is increased by the post, but not to actually decrease it.

Well thanks for your response. I hope you realize if I challenge you that is not out of dislike, or lack of respect. We are both different people and it is only natural sometimes we will not agree. I don't like the downvote and redistributionist aspect, but I also can see your point on the false advertising in the footer. Thus, I will do what I do when I do not support something, and just not vote on it.

Downvoting one post is the same as upvoting every other post.

I don't think they're "the same", but I believe I understand what you're getting at by that statement. I myself oppose down-voting and have never used it to the best of my recollection. It goes back to what many mothers tell their kids, if you don't have something nice to say, don't say anything". That principle is well expressed by withholding your vote.

That said, there is value in expressing a contrary or negative opinion or perspective in the right context and without aggression or malice. The exchange between you and @dwinblood has value to the community and is a model of respectful communication of contrary perspectives.

Down-voting may be beneficial to the community when a user is "clearly out of line". Of course being "clearly out of line" is highly subjective. I would draw that line at when harmful aggression is initiated but that's just my opinion. I can also empathize with the perspective that down-voting can be a useful tool to ostracize "bad" people from the community that rarely if ever contribute anything the community values. I would hope those cases should be more rare than common however.

Also, doesn't down-voting negatively affect a user's rep score? If so down-voting is definitely different from simply not voting at all which has zero impact on the rep score. Whether or not down-voting benefits or hinders Steemit's platform reputation is not obvious to me, just as I can't say that it improves or weakens the accuracy of an individual's rep score.

I hope you realize if I challenge you that is not out of dislike, or lack of respect. We are both different people and it is only natural sometimes we will not agree.

Disagreement with or challenges to opposing views is something I respect even when (or especially when) I'm the target of it. Thanks for the feedback.

You have a point on the EXCLUSIVE DAILY CONTENT. I have not seen that in awhile. I remember him doing that some back when he made that footer. I don't think you were downvoting him then either.

The false advertising is reason enough for me to withhold my vote (not that it is worth much). I won't downvote it, but until he is true to that statement, or removes it then I won't upvote. I hadn't considered the false statement angle in the footer.

One further comment

because he also ADVERTISES steemit on these posts external to steemit

Not as far as I can tell. Looking at the posts as they appear on https://dollarvigilante.com/blog, I don't see any advertisement of Steemit. The footer that mentions Steemit (deceptively, as mentioned elsewhere) only appears here, not there. The discussions (comments) there use Disqus and do not link to Steemit either.

It is in my email that I received from being on his mailing list. Can give you a screenshot if you want, but it is essentially the same footer he puts at the bottom of his steemit post. So it is not exclusive.

Thanks for the info. It isn't something that people who aren't subscribers to his mailing list would be aware of.

Actually it is not as good as I thought... STEEMIT was on the end of his emails as of November. This most recent one no longer lists steemit in the credits.

Here is the header and footer of the latest email:

An email from November 15th ended as follows... so perhaps he is not advertising for steemit any longer... and I did see he was powering down the other day when I checked.

Also feel free to reply to me as many times as you like. I am not one of those that sees the quantity of responses, and the fact they are not all in a single post as a negative thing. You are likely much like me in that you post, but that doesn't mean you stop thinking. That thought can lead to things you feel are important to share.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63345.39
ETH 3130.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48