Do Schools Teach Financial Education?

in #money7 years ago (edited)

Source

Sometimes, I wonder why schools teach us how to make money but never did educate how to handle it correctly.

Is Financial Education really this expensive that we cannot afford it through going to school?

During two decades of schooling, I cannot remember a teacher who mentioned or gave tips about money.

Well, aside from computing interests from our Engineering Economy Subject way back College.

But Financial Literacy? not even once!
Perhaps this is the reason why most of the working professionals are still living their lives from paycheck to paycheck for they fail to educate themselves FINANCIALLY.

We were just taught how to compute but were never given any hint the importance of what we're computing! Maybe because our mentors failed to apply it on themselves too?


People are so damn broke not because they don't have cash, but because they don't have Financial Education


Now that I am also a working professional, I realized that no one will ever teach you Financial Literacy but yourself.

During my first working months, I did some research on how to handle my finances correctly. Upto now, I'm still educating myself through reading financial write-ups online, attending financial seminars, and applying what I have learned religiously.

If you think merely reading one or two books about Financial Education guarantees you to be financially literate, you are wrong.

Financial Literacy is a lifelong journey. As long as you are earning, you should never stop learning.

And as a Financial Literacy Advocate, I feel like its my duty to spread out Financial Awareness especially to my fellow young professionals.

Hopefully, we will all able to evolve from being
Young, Dumb, and Broke
to
Young, Smart, and Financially Free!


You might want to read my previously-posted Financial Articles:


For more interesting topics about Cryptocurrency, Finances, and Arts, Follow me, @smaeunabs

If you haven't voted for your Steemit witnesses yet, try to take a look at the following promising individuals who greatly contributed in helping the Steemit community grow:

@steemgigs, @curie, @precise, @rcarter.witness, @good-karma, @drakos


If you're from Philippines, there are great communities who are waiting for you:

@bayanihan, @steemph, @steemph.cebu, @steemph.iligan, @steemph.davao, @steemph.manila

Sort:  

Education is what remains after one has forgotten what one has learned in school.

- Albert Einstein

I share your idea! I always thought only those students who take up Economics have learnt. So us, we learned the hard way. ^^

Exactly!!! I wish we also had Financial Subjects way back. Finance subjects shouldn't be limited with Finance-related courses alone. We deserve to know it too!

Yes so very true! There was a time in my life when I thought that to be financially free is solely exclusive to those who are on top. They all have the means to learn about investing, stock market, and the like. Why was I left behind? Then I realized, it’s a matter of deciding on your own, figuring out what’s best for you. Well, I’ve started to lead the path of achieving what “they’re” achieving. But by far I’m still on my “fetus” step. Haha

I'm so glad you really possess that mindset :) I'm a fetus as well and we should be proud that we've started our journey towards financial freedom :) who knows, we will be the one who'll replace the people "on top" diba?

Nag Phil Stockmarket ka run?

keep on sharing good food for the mind to your fellowmen ..

If this means transforming financial lives of our fellows, It's my pleasure to do so :)

Thankyou @jackielouvarquez for resteeming this :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63166.66
ETH 2575.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77