Geiger Edelmetalle 10oz Silver Bar

in #money7 years ago

I like collecting gold and silver coins and bars as a hobby but also as an investment strategy as precious metals act as a hedge for other parts of my investment portfolio as the prices of precious metals are not correlated with other assets. Often in times of severe economic hardship precious metals hold their value thereby protecting an investor's portfolio when their other assets (growth assets like stocks and real estate) are declining significantly. I would argue that precious metals also act as a good hedge for investment in cryptocurrencies as the price of gold and silver are much more stable than cryptocurrencies so in times of contraction in the cryptocurrency market, precious metals will hold their value. The non correlation can be beneficial to the investor as after a severe contraction in growth assets, precious metals can be used to fund opportune purchases of growth assets when their price is low.

Recently I bought a very cool 10 ounce silver bar from the Swiss refiner Geiger. I have owned bars from Geiger in the past and have found them to be one of the nicest silver bars available as Geiger makes their bars thicker than other refiners and the lettering and detail are very appealing. I have included pictures of the bar below and I have kept it in its plastic covering to protect its finish though unfortunately it diminishes the quality of the pictures. I bought this silver bar from the online precious metals dealer APMEX which I strongly recommend for any purchase of precious metals online as their prices are often the best as they are one of the largest volume precious metals dealers in the North America and their service and inventory is amazing.

Sort:  

wow nice thats good stuff. That building looks like the whitehouse a little.

I think the building is Geiger's building where it refines the bar in Germany.

Nice bar. Love the detail.

Yeah it's a well made silver bar. It's cool how the lettering and numbering are done as they are etched into the bar.

Good to see someone here knowing the meaning of correlation. Greetings from a well diversified investor. (PS Geiger I think is in Germany)

Your right, thanks for catching my error. Geiger is German and not Swiss.

Sweet furnace fodder my man.

You have to see the bar in real life, it is really cool. It's surprisingly quite heavy for its size and it has been uniquely cut.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82