Love 101: I'm going Broke supporting this relationship.

in #money7 years ago

I am happy in my relationship and I love my boyfriend. But we moved in together, in an apartment that was a little out of our range and now he seems content to be taken care of. He makes less than me so I pay most of the rent and the utility bills. I am contemplating getting a second job to provide for us but I don't see him making the effort. I'm questioning his ability to be a provider which is important to me...

It's always good practice to talk about big decisions like these beforehand. Sounds like you may have known that the apartment was out of your price range but took the leap. If you are thinking about getting a second job for your relationship and well being, he should be doing the same. That is true relationship equality.

Make sure he knows that this is stressing you and making you question your expectations of him being a provider and his role in your relationship. If it becomes more of an issue, maybe you could consider living apart as he works on his responsibility. If you are stressed that means you are bringing that into the relationship and that isn't good for either of you.

Hope that helps!

Sort:  

Life is less about the material things around us. It's more about enjoying time with those around us... If he is the right one just move to something more affordable and make the best of it..

  • Best wishes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53