You Only Have 85 Days Left

in #money7 years ago

Hello Stemian I was going to initially post this as a warning but I feel in the end that this is actually more of a reminder.
You may know its been around since March time now that we have been in this sort of what's known as a co-circulation period.
Basically meaning having both old and new £1 coins being legally valid.
But this is where my reminder comes in I got some new pound coins the other day when I brought a round of drinks for a girl friend's birthday gathering, I hadn't seen her in a good while.
After that night I noticed my old coins and have now remembered there are now only 85 days to go until October 15th.


twimg.com


October 15th is when the old round coins cease being a legal tender.

I an guessing the chances are that you yourself may have some of the old round coins still knocking about.
So the reminder is if you do then you'd better get a move on and spend them.

I know that by now you've probably got used to the new 12 sided £1 coins and stopped wondering whether you've picked up some dodgy foreign coins by mistake but trust me I actually still do this and at the girl friend's birthday gathering I looked at the coin for a few seconds thinking hmm that looks weird...
Oops but nobody noticed the weird look on my face.


meme.am


Ahh yes faces..


vinanet.vn


Haha but then it hit me.. so dont just check your purse ladies if any of you have children chances are that their piggy-banks are still full of old coins.
Many people also keep a pot of cash hidden away incase of those emergencies, check that coin collection for charity that you haven't taken yet...lol

Also

-Check down the back of sofas
-The kitchen drawers
-Where you keep bits and bobs
-Bottom of all your handbags

I think it's worth doing it now but any retail outlet should take them right up to the October 15th deadline after that most banks and building societies including Barclays, HSBC, Lloyds, Nationwide, RBS and Santander, have said that they will continue to accept the old coins.

Oh but the last thing the banks added was that however they would only do this for their own customers.


telegraph.co.uk


-I still keep getting them again in change at the Supermarket!
-The banks will continue to take them long, long after the deadline...

badgessteemit.jpg

Anyway if you like this page I need you guys to do me 2 easy things.

1.First please upvote this page.
2.And secondly dont forget to follow me below.

Also since votes don't always = $ and you if want to see more you can send me Steem Power Tips to @simonjay to help support me.

@koskl - @hanshotfirst - @meesterboom - @mammasitta- @surpassinggoogle - @kristy1 have already done this so a big thank you to them!




[Follow Me Here @simonjay]

Sort:  

I just found an old fiver, past the exchange date. Rage spiral!

I know what you mean @catonwheels I still found a fiver just yesterday when moving some old games dont forget to upvote.

Thanks for sharing, still many people have old £5.

No problem thanks for the supprt and yes indeed I am one of them @shrestharam whoops

Keep some, as a collection, they may be worth more down the road.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55885.64
ETH 2358.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31