You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Quest for Creative Financial Freedom Pt. 3: Showing My Income Stats, and, Why I’m Putting 50% of Income Towards Debt & Savings BEFORE I’m Ready

in #money7 years ago

You should see your Steemit income jump up as soon as the new hardfork gets activated because of the linear reward curve. Most posts will earn more, and the top post on the trending page will earn significantly less. Having a successful blog on here is all about growing your following, and you're well on your way to doing that.

Have you gotten a start on Rich Dad Poor Dad yet? I've seen you mention Dave Ramsey in the past - Ramsey has a lot of good advice. Once you start reading that book, you'll find out that Robert Kiyosaki and Dave Ramsey have vastly different strategies. I think it's really valuable to understand both viewpoints.

Sort:  

Yes, I meant to talk to you about Rich Dad Poor Dad - I finished it!

Brilliant book, thank you for recommending it to me. It felt like the first book that spoke to my kind of financial strategy - an ambitious one. The concept of "poor people buy liabilities, middle class people buy liabilities that they think are assets, and rich people buy actual assets" is HUGE, one I have to really ponder for a while.

I'm on "The Four Pillars of Investing" now, about 33% through, and finding it to be similarly mind blowing. There's so much to learn, and nobody in my life has even remotely introduced these concepts to me.

If you have other finance-related books to recommend, hit me with 'em. I tend to devour good books.

To be comfortable in retirement, I want that passive income Kiyosaki talks about. I think it's a much more viable plan than things like trying to save up a bunch of money and live off the interest or save money and try to stretch it to make it last the rest of my life.

None of us are taught about money in school, but it's so important. The sooner we can start building our passive income, the faster we'll be able to retire.

If you want to hear more by Kiyosaki, there's a lot of videos of him speaking or being interviewed on Youtube. I think I've seen most of those and have gotten a lot of value out of them.

Passive income seems to be a trend for a lot of smart people especially in the silicon valley world. You can probably do a soft retirement a lot earlier with a passive income strategy than with a "save up and live off interest" strategy.

ya I'll check out some youtube stuff - that's a great format for me since it's bite sized.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59596.75
ETH 2659.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45