7 Top Secret OfferUp Hacks to Make Money

in #money7 years ago (edited)

For a LONG time, I wanted to keep these secrets to myself but not anymore! Today I'm sharing the dirty deets.

If you want to sell your old crap on OfferUp and do it quickly, use these sneaky tips.

1494172257_163_offerup-buy-sell-offer-up.jpg

(source)

1. Crop Your Pictures

Just like Pinterest, it's best to have a long, narrow picture (at least the item's main photo). You'll see here that the longer it is, the more real estate it takes on the screen. Landscape pictures get almost no space at all.

IMG_0080.PNG

2. Phone A Friend

OfferUp's algorithms will keep "hot" items at the top of the home screen for a period of time. @Shenanigator and I figured out that if someone makes an offer or sends a message within about 15 minutes of posting, it ends up there. We take turns making offers on each others' items right after they are listed to increase the odds it will be a "trending" item, and therefore more people will see it when opening the app.

3. Save Time, Include All Details Immediately

Whenever ANYONE sends a message or makes an offer, respond with all pertinent details. I've come to find that 95% of the people on OfferUp (at least in my area) don't think about logistics (location, transportation, etc.), nor do they pay attention to the details of each listing. For instance, each post is tagged with the location, and I've also included my cross streets in my screen name. Yet, buyers constantly act surprised when I give them my address.

IMG_F3CA82FA9B8F-1.jpeg

Therefore, it saves me time and frustration to respond with something like:

"Hi <Person's Name>, when would you like to come by? My address is _______. I'm available ______ or ______.

4. Keywords Help—Be Descriptive

Err on the side of too much when describing your item. It might sound silly to title something "Ladies Women's Trench Coat Winter Jacket Size Medium," but it gives you the best chances of appearing in searches. Don't be obnoxious about it or keyword stuff, but if there's another name for the item or alternate phrasing that might help buyers discover it, include that.

5. Anticipate Questions

giphy-3.gif

Do you deliver? Wanna trade? What are the dimensions? How old is it?

You're going to get allllll these questions and more. Do yourself a favor and answer anything you can in the description. It takes a bit more time up front, but it saves you a lot later.

6. Keep Your Cool

giphy-1.gif

This is one of my faaaaavorite conversations...

For this example, let's say the item is listed for $86.

BUYER: Would you take $20?
ME: Sorry, I can't accept that price.
BUYER: What's your lowest?
ME: The lowest I can do for you is $70.
BUYER: Would you take $30?

giphy.gif

Close variations of this conversation have happened DOZENS of times. It frosts my fucking cookies. Don't ask my lowest price and then offer something below that. (Mini-rant over.)

Moral of the story? People will test your patience. They'll insult you with lowball offers. They'll cancel on you after you've rearranged your plans to accommodate them. They'll give you every super-obvious excuse in the book. They'll tell you blatantly untrue sob stories. They'll say "5 minutes away," and show up in two hours. Whatever you do...don't let it get to you! (Easier said than done, I know.)

Here's what you can do:

  1. Educate people. Sometimes they just don't know how the app works or they aren't familiar with the culture.
  2. Set reasonable boundaries. (For example, I won't meet people anywhere. They must come to my house because of how often people cancel or don't show up.)
  3. Be firm on your prices or lowballers will take advantage of you.
  4. Try to accommodate people but don't go out of your way. (See 2)
  5. Follow up before meeting times. (i.e., "I'll see you today at 4 pm at (address). Let me know if you need help finding the place.")
  6. Don't negotiate in person. OfferUp is designed for people to make offers within the app, so if someone tries giving you a lower amount when they show up, they're likely hoping you'll accept just because you've already invested time and effort into the transaction.

giphy-4.gif

7. Use Odd Pricing

People on OfferUp love to feel like they're getting a steal. If you list something for $100, they want it for $25. To help get the most money for your stuff, use odd pricing (as in not even bill amounts) so people are more likely to offer the amount you actually want.

Hoping to earn $40? List the item for $47.
Really want to get $85 out of it? Price it at $102.

You will have some people pay your random prices down to the dollar, but more often than not, the offers will come in at around the price you're looking for.

giphy-2.gif

BONUS TIP

Be warned. The lower you price an item, the more work you will probably have to do to sell it. It's like a siren goes off and all the riff-raff come out of hiding to try and waste your time. It's been proven time and time again. There's no better story than this one:

A few months ago, I listed a set of unused makeup brushes. They had some sticky residue on the handles from the price stickers, so I listed the $40 brushes for $6. You wouldn't believe the ungodly amount of messages I got from people:

  • Asking if I'd take $1, $2, $3...
  • Wanting me to deliver.
  • Setting a meeting time and canceling.
  • Giving excuses why they needed them for free.
  • Messaging endlessly with questions only to ghost me when they were supposed to show up.

Ugh, it was the worst. And the sad part is, Jordan and I have experienced the same thing numerous other times when we list a normally high-priced item for a fraction of the original cost. I'm not saying you shouldn't sell things like this, but just know what you're getting into.

Hope these help you avoid headaches and GET THAT MONAYYY on OfferUp. Do you have any tips or tricks that I didn't mention? Share in the comments.

giphy.gif

Like this post? Follow me @sharingeverybite for more.

Sort:  

Thank you. nice post. Followed

Amazing tips.I never knew most of them.Thanks a lot for sharing

Thank you so much for these tips, sharingeverybite! I realize this post is two years old now but it is still applicable and pertinent in November, 2019.

I read your post and followed your advice the same day and successfully sold several items on OfferUp within 24 hours. I made sure all of my items were super clean, took the maximum number of good clear pictures indoors, and tried to price things well and ending in “9‘s”. I literally got the first “kaching” in 4 minutes of my first posted offer and those two chairs were sold and in the hands of the buyer within one hour.

I found that at this point nearly all photos on OfferUp are portrait/long so when I used landscape they actually stood out a little better. So I just used whatever orientation showed the item being offered to its best advantage. Also I modified my cover image when it didn’t get the response I expected - for example, my bike rack got more traction when the cover picture showed it installed on my car rather than displayed on the carpet.

I responded to all messages within a few minutes, included really long descriptions answering anticipated questions and included the area of town (although most people don't read them!), and followed up regarding meeting times. I learned that people will only drive so far even if it is a great deal on an excellent item. And I found out quickly that half-price offers come in immediately and I used your “Sorry, I can‘t accept that price“ verbatim. I also have some physical constraints so I set limits on what I would do for the buyer, e.g., they were on their own getting a 7-ft tall bookcase into their vehicle and home.

I have to divest myself of many more possessions in the next few months and your “7 Top Secret OfferUp Hacks to Make Money” has gotten me off to a great start.

Anyway, I just wanted to send you my appreciation and regards! To do this I had to go through the Steemit initiation, but that’s okay. :-)

Screenshot_20191118-160001_OfferUp.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44