ScaredyCatGuide to Real Estate - Buying Right For Cash Flow (Revisited)

in #money7 years ago

Like many thing in life, you make your money when you buy! Whether buying a home, stock or rental property they will all give you a better return if you buy at a good price.

direction-1033278_640.jpg
image source

When it comes to Rental Property Investing, it's what I like to call....

Buying Right

When it comes to Rental Property Investing- Why do we want to buy right?

Because it gives us confidence we are making a sound decision, thus drowning out that scaredy cat habit of failing to pull the trigger.

Steps to Buying Right

1st – You run the Financials

The first thing I do when I see a property for sale is run the numbers. If the property is not going to cash flow when I take all the anticipated expenses and subtract them from the going rental rate then I move on. No point in viewing the property.

Luckily, we can use a simple property calculator to find this result.

(Success Note: You should have a property calculator that analyzes the financials of every deal you consider – you can download the scaredycatguide calculator directly from the website)

In the end here is your formula you should understand.

(Taxes + Insurance + Vacancy + Maintenance + Reserves) = Operating Expenses

Operating Expenses equal your total cost per year to hold that property.

(Note: there can be additional expenses, such as management if you hire a property mgr. or an HOA fee if there is a homeowners association.)

There is a general rule of thumb that Operating Expenses will cost 50% of your total rental income. It’s good for a quick calculation. However, I have found it more in the 40-45% range for all the properties I’ve analyzed.

Once we know are Operating expenses we can find our Net Operating Income (NOI)

Total Rent – Operating Expenses = Net Operating Income.

Now we can see how much cash flow the rental property is creating each year.

Net Operating Income – Debt Service = Cash Flow

(Debt service assumes you took a mortgage to buy the property, if not than your NOI is your cash flow)

Now for the most Important Number:

The Cash on Cash Return

Cash on cash return is the main number I use to decide whether a property is worth pursuing.

This will tell me what return I am getting on my money. I generally look for at least 8%, because otherwise I mind as well put my money in the stock market given the long term historical returns there are 8%. However, with real estate I have a HARD ASSET that someone else is paying down the mortgage on!

Cash on Cash Return = Cash Flow/Total Investment

That’s the key number. I want to see 8% or better, that is my preference. I know investors that won’t accept less than 10%

You can see a working example of running these numbers through a property calculator on the full post here: http://scaredycatguide.com/buying-right-to-ensure-cash-flow-revisited/


steemint 1k follower_resize.png10kSP.png


Best Regards,
Scaredy Cat Guide Logo_SiteHeader2.jpg

Sort:  

Excellent breakdown of the most important numbers for assessing a property. If only Aussie investors understood the importance of positive cash flow.

How much is your typical deposit (as a percentage of purchase price)? How difficult is it today to get your 8 to 10% CoCR?

I usually do 20% down as I don't like paying PMI and want to have some equity from the bat. Of course, this is when I have the money to do so.

As for the Cash on cash, 8% has become very difficult to find in South Florida. I have started looking out of State where you can find higher returns.

It's amazing how the market in Florida has bounced back. I remember Fort Myers was one of the most depressed cities in America.

Yes, the rebound here has been insane. Wish I'd of started buying in 2011 as opposed to 2014. I'd be retired ;-)

We are fully priced now, in my opinion. Regular Joe's are struggling to be able to afford a home of there own at our current market prices.

Good tips. Unless you are a really good seller, you make money when you buy.

Yup, you can only "pump up" the value on something so much when selling as market value is market value.

Your post is very useful, I hope I will continue to be able to communicate with you through this community and we will share information, I have business information that is very tempting for you, please check https://steemit.com/business/@ponpase/expo-2017-join-now-2017810t214715198z

BUSINEES-ST.gif


Congratulations @scaredycatguide! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post. Thanks for explaining cash on cash return.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77