You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I don't believe Dave Ramsey is good for the unconstrained

in #money6 years ago

The main things with Ramsey is he preaches debt as basically the devil. For a long period of time (before I even knew who he was) I believed that myself.

I have since learned the difference between good debt and bad debt and have used reasonable leverage for my real estate investing business successfully.

All while probably still being to conservative with what I have done. Then again, I'm the scaredycatguide for a reason ;-)

Sort:  

If you manage the liabilities of money as a business would (per your real estate investing business), then you are no different to any other business. Very few businesses I know of funded their own inventory or their own capital equipment. Most use borrowed funds for this, but since there is a concept of leverage and they are trading on the cashflow, it works. When people think that their personal finances can be managed the same way, but have no business acumen, things go wrong.

Yeah, I can agree with that. I supposed I was lucky I had an interest in finance at a young age and understood both sides of the fence.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64071.08
ETH 2763.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66